Reply
Contributor
Squidgetlad
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-18-2009
Accepted Solution

Is this Norton's real e-mail?

[ Edited ]
Hi, I am getting e-mail's saying that I can upgrade my Norton Internet Security from '09-'010 for free. The sender is e-mail address: (Symantec@reply.digitalriver.com). Just wondering if this is the legit Norton e-mail address and making sure that it can be trusted.
Message Edited by Squidgetlad on 10-08-2009 07:22 PM
Message Edited by Squidgetlad on 10-08-2009 07:22 PM
Super Virus Trouncer
bjm_
Posts: 2,179
Registered: ‎09-07-2008

Re: Is this Norton's real e-mail?

Hi Squidgetlad

 

digitalriver.com is the online vendor for Norton products

http://nct.digitalriver.com/fulfill/0184.078

 

and you can upgrade NIS09 to NIS10 for free...as far as email goes....my guess it's valid

open a new email and paste  Symantec@reply.digitalriver.com to the address and ask them if email is valid..

anything Norton product you purchase online will go via digital river

Regards

bjm_

 

 

 

Administrator
Dave_Coleman
Posts: 1,268
Registered: ‎04-07-2008

Re: Is this Norton's real e-mail?

 bjm_ is correct. DigitalRiver is Symantec's online vendor. So the email can be trusted.

 

Cheers!

Dave

Contributor
Squidgetlad
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Re: Is this Norton's real e-mail?

Funny, because I downloaded it and my computer was unable to start. I had to  reboot it to prior the download of it and when I got back on all of my antivirus things in Norton were turned off and my computer was at risk. Do you guys know any reason why this happen? Is it because the new Norton took over, causing some of '09 to shut down?
Contributor
Squidgetlad
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎08-18-2009

Re: Is this Norton's real e-mail?

Also, when I turned my computer on this music started to play and I didn't know where it was coming from.