08-18-2012 04:26 AM
Solved! Go to Solution.
08-18-2012 04:51 AM - edited 08-18-2012 04:52 AM
norton@nortonfromsymantec.com is a legitimate email from Norton, the links and contact information are all real, and I think you have actually been compensated with 0+ days extra protection for real, because of overcharging, wrong currency or not.
08-18-2012 08:32 AM - edited 08-18-2012 08:38 AM
Peter,
You are right to check but the chat link is valid and it does give a UK phone number: English United Kingdom 44 (0) 20 7616 5600 24x7 which you will know how to reconfigure for local use since it is in the format for use from outside the UK.
I suggest you try this CHAT link and ask them to verify:
To contact customer support Click on this link https://www.norton.com/chat and work on from there.
I have queried this with Norton but things are slower at the weekend since the Norton Staff here -- names in red -- all have some down time <s>
Please let us know how you get on ....
08-18-2012
01:28 PM
- last edited on
08-18-2012
09:39 PM
by
Mohan_G
My biggest doubt is that I don't pay in dollars and last renewed in July 2011 and July 2012. The suspect email headers are as follows:
X-Apparently-To: [removed] via 188.125.85.246; Fri, 17 Aug 2012 20:55:35 +0000 Received-SPF: pass (domain of nortonfromsymantec.com designates 12.130.138.126 as permitted sender) X-YMailISG: uI9W_jYWLDs56Bl_CIyhtQ92K7QV4EJDHumKyNacgenitmoM i6f.fkVpdEKxZ6i.wtuiMDBV2lJPkHDlwod55B74YGKT1fvlt
If I haven't been spoofed, how come Norton thinks it owes me $10?
Peter
[ Edit : Removed email address ]
08-18-2012 01:38 PM
Have you contacted CHAT yet? They should bve able to tell you whether it is a spoof or not.
Here in the forums we are users helping users and we don't have access to purchasing data as they do. In fact we don't have access to any of your data <g>
As others have said, the URLs are valid as they appear in your copy/pastes
So please help all of us and check with Support -- you can do that via the CHAT link that uses your computer keyboard and they have a reputation for being quick and helpful.
08-20-2012 03:16 AM
I have opened live chat case ID 04507197 and received the reply "We value your business. Unfortunately none of our Representatives are available at this time due to high traffic levels OR you have reached us outside our normal hours of business. Please continue to browse our site and feel free to use our self-serve options. Thank you!"
I understand this to mean "come back later". If I leave the window open , can I hope that eventually someone will spot that I need help and email me to actually start chatting. I assume it's just after 3 am at Norton HQ, but it's not very useful for a world organisation to operate on line only when the sun is shining at their end.
Is there a valid Norton email address to which I can forward the suspect email while they are not at work. I tried spamwatch@symantec.com on Friday, but had it bounced back as that doesn't exist now.
"
08-20-2012 07:42 AM
Sorry you did not get anywhere -- maybe the UK CHAT observes weekends so it might be worth trying again today.
Here's my link:
To contact customer support Click on this link https://www.norton.com/chat and work on from there.
I've nudged Norton here in the forums.
08-20-2012 08:35 AM
I have finally managed to start a chat session, and Suraj of Norton Support has examined the email headers and told me that it is a genuine email from Norton. Thanks to Hugh for his help; sorry to have wasted his time.
08-20-2012 08:48 AM
How weird. I just came off a chat session with someone called Miracle, who told me I was the victim of a bogus email scam
08-20-2012 12:08 PM
Not wasted at all ... glad you got through and sorted it out .... do let us know when you get your $10 <s>
