Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Newbie
aggrevated1
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-29-2011

Norton AntiVirus 2011 won't complete updates

Sad state of affairs when the size of the complete program is only 63 megs and I needed to download 153 megs of updates to get my program current.

 

I bought this program back in June and installed it.  Got it set up and immediately tried to update the program.  First two phases, scan and down load, worked fine but I have yet to get all of the updates to process completely and correctly.  And to top it all off, I'm on dialup and only running at 28.8 bps.  It's a day and a half to down load 153 megs, and then just to find out they haven't/won't correctly process and update my program.

 

It was only a $30.00 lesson, but one that I won't soon forget.

 

Aggrevated1

dickevans
Posts: 11,781
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Norton AntiVirus 2011 won't complete updates


aggrevated1 wrote:

Sad state of affairs when the size of the complete program is only 63 megs and I needed to download 153 megs of updates to get my program current.

 

I bought this program back in June and installed it.  Got it set up and immediately tried to update the program.  First two phases, scan and down load, worked fine but I have yet to get all of the updates to process completely and correctly.  And to top it all off, I'm on dialup and only running at 28.8 bps.  It's a day and a half to down load 153 megs, and then just to find out they haven't/won't correctly process and update my program.

 

It was only a $30.00 lesson, but one that I won't soon forget.

 

Aggrevated1


Welcome,

Sorry you're having this problem and also that you're on dialup which only makes it harder to resolve. I'd like a bit more information about your system before I try to suggest some possible solutions. Operating system? Is/was there another security product installed before you installed NAV? If so, what was it and how was it removed?

While I wait for your reply I've got to think about how best to work with your dialup limitation.

Thanks

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21
AllenM
Posts: 10,222
Topics: 221
Kudos: 2,151
Solutions: 377
Registered: ‎12-14-2008

Re: Norton AntiVirus 2011 won't complete updates

[ Edited ]

Hi aggrevated1,

 

Welcome to the Norton Community.

 

In addition to the extra information that Dick requested, there is one thing you can do to at least limit the size of a FULL definition download.

 

Please ONLY do this if you were not subsequently able to complete the live update.

 

From the main NAV window, click on Settings and it should bring up the Computer Settings page, if not click on that.

 

If you turn Smart Definitions ON it will limit the amount of data that you have to download when NAV is wanting to download the FULL set of definitions.

 

Before you decide to do this, let me explain what Smart Definitions are so that you can make an informed choice. With this option turned ON NAV will only download the CORE set of definitions which does not include definitions for older malware which has not been seen quite some time. If some old malware did start being propagated again you would still receive updates related to that malware.

 

From the NAV Help information it says:

 


Norton Internet Security provides the Smart
Definitions
option to choose between the Core Set virus definitions and
Complete Set virus definitions for LiveUpdate sessions.

When Smart Definitions option is turned on,
Norton Internet Security activates the Core Set virus definitions which contain
the most important virus definitions that are required for latest security
threats as viewed by Symantec. Turning on the Smart
Definitions
option minimizes download time, installation time, and system
start time. It also provides you free disk space of about 20-30MB. Therefore,
the Core Set results in faster performance of your computer.

When Smart Definitions option is turned off,
Norton Internet Security activates the Complete Set virus definitions which
contain all the virus definitions for each threat that is known to Symantec.


Please provide the exact version of NAV that you have. You can find this from Support > About. Also what version of Windows and SP (Service pack) you have and whether it is 32 or 64 bit.

 

Also, what error message if any do you receive when live update fails? When Live update is completed there is a "View Summary" link you can click which will give you more details about the updates it attempted and which ones failed vs succeeded. Additionally you can click on History then select Live Update from the drop down list. Please check this and let us know what was reported as part of the live update session. You can double click any of the events in history and get more detail on it.

 

This is in addition to what DIck has already requested.

 

Best wishes.

Allen

Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1, 32 bit, 4 GB * NIS 2012 (19.8.0.14) * Ghost 15 * IE 9, Firefox, Safari.
Test laptop with W7 Home Premium 64 bit * NIS 2012 (19.8.0.14)
lmacri
Posts: 1,455
Kudos: 532
Registered: ‎05-05-2009

Re: Norton AntiVirus 2011 won't complete updates

[ Edited ]

Hi aggrevated1:

 

I feel your pain.  I have a dial-up connection, and the only way I can install a new NIS product upgrade is to take my laptop into a library or coffeeshop that has free public WiFi and do the upgrade there.

 

Further to AllenM's comments, I tried using the Smart Definitions with NIS 2011 and found it saved about 17 MB for the initial LiveUpdate (approx. 64 MB for the full definitions vs. 47 MB for the "core" Smart Definitions).  I've gone back to using the full definitions because disk space is not an issue on my hard drive.

 

I've had to make two changes to my configuration settings to prevent large product updates from being downloaded during automatic LiveUpdates and bringing my dial-up connection to a grinding halt.  I assume there are similar settings in your NAV 2011:

 

1.  Settings | Computer Settings | Updates | Automatic Live Updates | OFF

2.  Settings | Miscellaneous Settings | Automatic Download of New Versions | OFF

 

The first prevents the automatic delivery of product updates (e.g., from NIS 2011 v. 18.5.0.125 to v. 18.6.0.29) while the second prevents delivery of full product upgrades (e.g., from NIS 2011 to NIS 2012).

 

I still run a manual LiveUpdate at least once a day to keep my virus definitions updated, but I do it over my home dial-up connection when I know my connection is going to be idle, or just run the LiveUpdate over a public WiFi connection.

---------

Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP2 * NIS 2011 v. 18.6.0.29 * IE 9.0 * Firefox 6.0
HP Pavilion dv6835ca, Intel Core2Duo CPU T5550 @ 1.83 GHz, 3.0 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS

Keylogger Crusher
RichD
Posts: 302
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Norton AntiVirus 2011 won't complete updates

Hi aggrevated1,

 

If your speed is limited to 28.8 kbps, are you sure that you acually reach that limit?

Would you be able to do a test of your download speed and compare it to the maximum of 28.8 kbps?  If your effective download speed is much lower than the maximum, then you may need to take additional steps in order to customize your modem settings so as to increase the speed

There are several on-line speed tests available on the internet.  One of them is

http://www.speedtest.net/

There is also a web-page with 28.8 modem information and hints:

Bandwidth calculator: for 28.8 Modem

http://web.forret.com/tools/bandwidth.asp?speed=20&unit=Kbps&title=for+28.8+Modem

 

RichD



HP-Mini 110 -1020NR (netbook) 2GB RAM, CPU N270 @1.60GHz, Windows XP Home, SP3, NIS 2011 18.6.0.29 (installed 12h00 GMT 18-JUL-11) , FF5,IE8

lmacri
Posts: 1,455
Kudos: 532
Registered: ‎05-05-2009

Re: Norton AntiVirus 2011 won't complete updates

[ Edited ]

Hi RichD:

 

I have a 56 K dial-up modem, and it still isn't practical to use dial-up to download these large product upgrades.  I've tested my connnection and my LiveUpdates still take approx. 3 to 4 minutes per MB of download.  That means a typical 5 MB daily LiveUpdate now takes about 15 - 20 minutes over my home dial-up connection.

 

It would be helpful if the NIS 2011 system requirements here on the Symantec website actually mentioned a minimum connection speed (e.g., like the iTunes system requirements here on the Apple website) so that new users were at least aware that a broadband connection was required.

 

I've been using NIS for a few years, and before pulse updates were introduced, users used to receive a pop-up window that would warn them if large product updates (e.g., from v. 18.1 to 18.5) were about to be delivered via their manual LiveUpdates.  Users with dial-up connections could temporarily decline that one particular update and choose to proceed with the daily update for their virus definitions, etc.  It's too bad that dial-up users no longer have that type of control over how their product updates are delivered.

-------------

Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP2 * NIS 2011 v. 18.6.0.29 * IE 9.0 * Firefox 6.0
HP Pavilion dv6835ca, Intel Core2Duo CPU T5550 @ 1.83 GHz, 3.0 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS

lmacri
Posts: 1,455
Kudos: 532
Registered: ‎05-05-2009

Re: Norton AntiVirus 2011 won't complete updates

Hi aggrevated1:

 

Any success trying to get your NAV installation file to download, or have you decided to try and get a refund?

 

Based on your initial post, you appear to have your modem configured properly to maintain your connection during a large download, but I'll post my Motorola 56 K modem settings in my next post just in case you want to double-check.

 

There are several problems beyond your control that can disrupt large downloads over a dial-up connection (e.g., disconnects from the download server or your ISP).  I know of some dial-up users who have used free file download managers like Innoshock's Orbit Downloader (CNET review here) or Tonec's Internet Download Manager (CNET review here) that can resume these broken downloads, and several are listed on the FileHippo website here.  I've never tried one of these download managers since I have optional access to a fast public WiFi connnection, but someone else following this thread may have an opinion about whether one of these download managers miight be a good option for you.

----------

Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP2 * NIS 2011 v. 18.6.0.29 * IE 9.0 * Firefox 6.0
HP Pavilion dv6835ca, Intel Core2Duo CPU T5550 @ 1.83 GHz, 3.0 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS

lmacri
Posts: 1,455
Kudos: 532
Registered: ‎05-05-2009

Re: Norton AntiVirus 2011 won't complete updates

[ Edited ]

Hi aggrevated1:

 

As promised, here are my Motorola 56 K modem settings I use to ensure fast downloads and prevent disconnects if my system goes into idle during the download.  You must have Administrator priviledges to change these settings from the Device Manager.

1.  Open the Device Manager at Start |Control Panel | Device Manager (Win Vista).

 

2.  Expand the Modem section and double-click on the name of your modem.

 

3.  On the Modem tab, select the highest Maximum Port Speed (e.g. usually higher than the "normal" default speed of your modem).

 

Modem Port Speed.jpg

 

4.  On the Advanced tab, click Advanced Port Settings and ensure the receive/transmit buffers are set to for fast performance.

 

Advanced COM3 Port Settings.jpg

 

5.  On the Advanced tab, click Change Default Preferences and and disable "Disconnect a call if idle for more than..." on the General tab to ensure large downloads are not aborted by your modem.

 

Modem Idle Disconnect.jpg


Depending on the modem, some of these settings can also be configured from the Phone and Modem Options (Start | Control Panel | Phone and Modem Options | Modems | Properties).

 

There is also a good article here on the SpeedUpNow site on tweaking your dial-up connnection.  It specifically mentions 56 K modems but most tweaks would apply to your 28 K modem.

--------

Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP2 * NIS 2011 v. 18.6.0.29 * IE 9.0 * Firefox 6.0
HP Pavilion dv6835ca, Intel Core2Duo CPU T5550 @ 1.83 GHz, 3.0 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS

Visitor
Ticked-Off
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-07-2011

Re: Norton AntiVirus 2011 won't complete updates

Hi All, I found this forium thanks to Google. I was going to post a request for this very information, then I just happened to find a thread already here about it. I've been having the same problem with my Norton Anti Virus updates, as has been described here. As my screen name states, I'm pretty Ticked Off about it. According to my Norton history, the last successful update was 58 days ago.I have a pokey dial up connection as well. I'm on a fixed income, so that is all I can afford. I don't appreciate paying good money for something that doesn't operate properly, hence the meaning behind the appropriate screen name. At any rate, I'm glad that I found a few suggestions here. Hopefully they will prove to be a solution to my problem. Thanks to all who shared the above info for those of us who aren't as computer savvy as we'd like to be.

lmacri
Posts: 1,455
Kudos: 532
Registered: ‎05-05-2009

Re: Norton AntiVirus 2011 won't complete updates

[ Edited ]

Hi Ticked-Off:

 

Welcome to the Norton community.  We should start a special forum just for the dial-up users - we're a small but passionate (and frequently ticked-off :smileyvery-happy:) group.

 

If tweaking your modem settings doesn't help, post back with the exact version of NAV you're running (see Support | About)  and your Windows operating system.  Check the status of your subscription (Support | Subscription Status) and let us know if the number of days left on your subscription is correct.  Also check the following update settings and let us know if one or both is disabled (which wouldn't be surprising if you use a dial-up connection).  If Automatic LiveUpdates are disabled then Pulse Updates are also disabled by default.

 

Settings | Computer Settings | Updates | Automatic LiveUpdates

Settings | Computer Settings | Updates | Pulse Updates

 

I use NIS 2011 v. 18.0.6.29 and when I open the Norton Tasks window (Performance  | Norton Tasks) I can see the Last Run dates of my Automatic LiveUpdate and Pulse Update.  Does the date in the Norton Tasks window match the last run date in your NAV history?  My last run dates both say Never in the Norton Tasks window because I have automatic updating disabled and run my LiveUpdates manually.

 

I hope all this makes sense.  I'm not certain that these settings are identical in NIS ans NAV.

 

Norton Tasks Last Run.jpg

 

----------

Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP2 * NIS 2011 v. 18.6.0.29 * IE 9.0 * Firefox 6.0.0
HP Pavilion dv6835ca, Intel Core2Duo CPU T5550 @ 1.83 GHz, 3.0 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS