Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Visitor
Joelltzx

Norton Internet Security 2011 has killed my PC

[ Edited ]

I have been using NIS without any problems for many years. Yesterday, after I loaded the 2011 version, upon restart, my system crashed to the Blue Screen of Death. I spent 6 hours with people in India at 4 levels (ticket # [removed]) and they were totally incompetent. They could not articulate what was wrong or what they were doing. Prior to calling them I could enter safe mode. By the time they were done, I could not get into safe mode. So much for letting people fix a machine remotely. Also, at one point one of them attempted to open a Turbotax file, but I closed it down. They left the machine worse than it was when it crashed. and told me I'd have to get it fixed before they could help me.  Say What??   Isn't that their job. Note that everything was fine before I installed NIS2011 and now my PC is totally unusable.

Now I have to pay $150 to get it fixed and spend days reloading s/w and data. I am totally pissed w/ Symantec. No one should have to go through the crap you have put me through. I want some real support. There is no excuse for this. Software should not create more problems than before it was installed.

Joel

[edit: removed support case number per the Participation Guidelines and Terms of Service.]

Tech83
Topics: 55
Kudos: 168
Solutions: 27

Re: Norton Internet Security 2011 has killed my PC

Hi! Joelltzx,

Welcome to the Norton Community! :)

My apologizes for your bad experience (also if I got your screen name wrong).

Generally a PC will not up and give a BSOD without an underlying issue; could you please provide as much information as you can from the Blue screen that you recieve.  Also please provide the name of your OS and Service Pack level installed (i.e.; Windows XP SP3, Window Vista SP2, Windows 7 as well as 32-bit or 64-bit).

Tech83 :)  PC Bench repair technician.

Visitor
Joelltzx

Windows XP SP3 32 bit