Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
bruce007
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-26-2012

Norton Internet Security firewall setup

Hello, I am trying to set up firewall in Norton Internet Security (2012) to block certain countries. I am thinking to use IP address. But I found that there are thousdands of lines of IP address for one country. it is impossiable to enter them manually. Is it a way to import IP address into Norton Internet security for blocking purpose. you can get list of IPs from http://www.nirsoft.net/countryip/

But I am having hard time to enter them into Norton Internet Security due to too many of them. Does any one know how to set up firewall to block certain countries? thank you

peterweb
Posts: 9,184
Kudos: 1,462
Solutions: 365
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Norton Internet Security firewall setup

Do you have a specific reason for blocking a specific country? There may be other options, like using Norton Family, or special DNS services.

 

 

 


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
Nikhil_CV
Posts: 1,054
Topics: 77
Blog Posts: 0
Ideas: 0
Registered: ‎08-26-2012

Re: Norton Internet Security firewall setup

Hi bruce007,
Whatever your intention or purpose, configuring NIS firewall to block IP blocks will be heavy and tiresome. You may configure a Router or some other softwares like proxies to do it.
Check out:
https://drupal.org/node/298649
http://www.ip2location.com/blockvisitorsbycountry.aspx
http://www.howtoforge.com/blocking-ip-addresses-of-any-country-with-iptables
regards,
cv


Using Samsung NP550P5C-S02IN - NIS - Win 7 - Nvidia Geforce 650M - i7 3670QM - 8Gb RAM - Blu Ray - Chrome with Adblocker - Https everywhere - DiskCryptor - Win XP Pro, Vista, 7 UL, 8, 8.1 Pro in virtual environments.
Always have a Backup Plan!
Contributor
bruce007
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-26-2012

Re: Norton Internet Security firewall setup

team, sorry for late reply. I will try these methods. I do this because that I found lots fo hackers to attack my site from some certain countries. thank you

Nikhil_CV
Posts: 1,054
Topics: 77
Blog Posts: 0
Ideas: 0
Registered: ‎08-26-2012

Re: Norton Internet Security firewall setup

Actually NIS is intended for personal protection. If you need to have a firewall for your site you may have to visit symantec site for business. (http://www.symantec.com/en/in/web-security-cloud)
Using NIS firewall for blocking a block of IP will be tiresome work as said, but if you find a work around for it please let us know.
regards,
cv


Using Samsung NP550P5C-S02IN - NIS - Win 7 - Nvidia Geforce 650M - i7 3670QM - 8Gb RAM - Blu Ray - Chrome with Adblocker - Https everywhere - DiskCryptor - Win XP Pro, Vista, 7 UL, 8, 8.1 Pro in virtual environments.
Always have a Backup Plan!