Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
spock999
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-25-2011

Norton Internet Security not working!

I have Windows 7 home 64bit and I use the 2012 version of Norton Internet Security.

 

Over the last few days the Action Center keeps telling me that NIS has been switched off and raising issues about antispyware, antivirus and the firewall. NIS is sitting there telling me that everything is secure.

 

I don't think there is a major issue but it is very irritating. I can resolve it for today by going into NIS, switching everything off and then back on again. So it looks like something has gone wrong with the communication between Windows and NIS at start up.

 

Any suggestions gratefully received.

Super Spam Squasher
Bombastus
Posts: 1,786
Registered: ‎11-16-2009

Re: Norton Internet Security not working!

[ Edited ]

Hello!

 

Sometimes, the contents of the Repository folder (that's where Windows store the data that Action Center getsits information from) gets screwed up. This has been happening since Windows XPs days, unfortunately. The solution is usually to delete that folder, after which Windows rebuilds it automatically, with the correct data this time.

 

Easy instructions can be found in the second post in this Microsoft support forum thread:

 

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-GB/w7itproappcompat/thread/0144402e-d6c3-46ea-be72-f7e...

 

And it can't harm your computer to delete this folder, whether this is the reason for your problems or not (which seems likely) - Windows always just rebuilds that folder.

Visitor
spock999
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-25-2011

Re: Norton Internet Security not working!

That didn't work. I still need to close it all and open it again after restart.

lmacri
Posts: 1,446
Kudos: 536
Registered: ‎05-05-2009

Re: Norton Internet Security not working!

[ Edited ]

Hi spock999:

 

You might want to check out maxknux's thread here titled Windows 7 Action Center Showing No Security or Turned Off.  I've heard of some users who were able to resolve the problem by disabling NIS (both the Smart Firewall and Anti-Virus Auto-Protect) from the system tray icon , re-booting, and re-enabling NIS again, or even performing a clean re-install of NIS using the Norton Removal Tool as described here.

-----------------
Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit SP2 * NIS 2011 v. 18.7.0.13 * IE 9.0 * Firefox 11.0
HP Pavilion dv6835ca, Intel Core2Duo CPU T5550 @ 1.83 GHz, 3.0 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS

yank
Posts: 9,362
Kudos: 2,052
Solutions: 470
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Norton Internet Security not working!

Hi spock999,

 

Please try the solution posted in this post:  http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-360/windows-7-action-centre-in-task-bar/m-p/217495/highlight/t...   I would suggest trying this prior to any removal/reinstallation of NIS.

 

Please keep us posted.

Visitor
spock999
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-25-2011

Re: Norton Internet Security not working!

Things have gone from bad to worse.

 

I tried some of the things you suggested without success and felt I was at the limit of my comfort zone - so I decided to contact Norton direct.

 

The took over my Pc and tried various things which haven't proven successful but in the process my copy of Windows decided that it wasn't genuine. It wasn't a problem earlier as Windows update had been in action. The net result is that MS are telling me that I need to do a clean install of Windows.

 

I am intending to have a conversation with Norton tomorrow because at 2315 UK time I am pretty knackered. I am also as you might expect severely upsaet at the prospect of spending the weekend installing Windows rather than doing what I had intended. I may well have to consider whether I am prepared to ever use Norton again.

dickevans
Posts: 11,770
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Norton Internet Security not working!

[ Edited ]

spock999 wrote:

Things have gone from bad to worse.

 

I tried some of the things you suggested without success and felt I was at the limit of my comfort zone - so I decided to contact Norton direct.

 

The took over my Pc and tried various things which haven't proven successful but in the process my copy of Windows decided that it wasn't genuine. It wasn't a problem earlier as Windows update had been in action. The net result is that MS are telling me that I need to do a clean install of Windows.

 

I am intending to have a conversation with Norton tomorrow because at 2315 UK time I am pretty knackered. I am also as you might expect severely upsaet at the prospect of spending the weekend installing Windows rather than doing what I had intended. I may well have to consider whether I am prepared to ever use Norton again.


Hi,

I fully understand your current feelings [been there done that]. The fact that everything went into the [insert correct word] may not have been the fault of the software or the technicians. The results your describe seem to indicate that something else was present and put a spanner in the works. After you have rebuillt your system I'd recommend that you make a backup image so that should this event happen again you can reimage your system and be back to doing your thing in much less than an hour.

Should you determine that you must use another product that is almost as good as your Norton product do run the Norton Removal Tool found here: https://www-secure.symantec.com/norton-support/jsp/help-solutions.jsp?docid=kb20080710133834EN_EndUs... so that you have a clean machine for that product to operate in. Or, if you elect to remain with the best [yes, I am prejudiced] we'll be here to help you. The light's always on. Til then

Stay well and surf safe

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21