Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Newboy999
Posts: 29
Topics: 9
Kudos: 1
Solutions: 0
Registered: ‎07-12-2011

Norton Management issues

Can anybody advise the correct forum to post ref issuess with Norton Management?

 

I tried to install this product on my 3 PC's today which run NIS 2012 but it has managed to completely screw up the licence details in My Account.

 

I've tried LIve Chat but am having difficulty in getting a response. Is this because I'm based in the UK?

    

huwyngr
Posts: 21,822
Topics: 1,038
Kudos: 2,862
Solutions: 380
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Norton Management issues

[ Edited ]

I think this is as good a place as any for Norton Management on NIS -- I don't think it has it's own home.

 

Could you clarify a bit what you mean by screwed up?!

 

Are the expiry dates wrong? Or IDs of installations or ..... ?

 

There should be no problem with Live Chat in the UK but let me see if I can find their UK phone number. I'll edit this with what I find or add another message.

 

Sorry no luck but I know someone has it so keep an eye open.

 

Were you using:

 

To contact customer support Click on this link https://www.norton.com/chat   and work on from there.

Please let us know how you get on ....



Hugh
Newboy999
Posts: 29
Topics: 9
Kudos: 1
Solutions: 0
Registered: ‎07-12-2011

Re: Norton Management issues

[ Edited ]

Hi,

Thanks for the reply huwyngr and apologies for not replying sooner. The problems are as follows:

 

I have a 3 user licence, originally for NIS2011. Installed on an XP desktop (Dell), a WIN 7 desktop (HP) and a WIN 7 laptop (HP).

 

The 2 desktops were upgraded to NIS 2012 several months ago.

 

I wanted to install Norton Management as the XP desktop is due for retirement and I wanted to be able to transfer the NIS licence to the new machine when I eventually purchase it.

 

Norton Management was therefore downloaded and installed on both desktops. It was obviously not installed on the laptop because that is still running NIS 2011.

 

The installation seemed to go OK on the 2 desktops, but since then NIS seems to have become disabled on the laptop for some reason. When I log into Norton Management the 2 desktops appear with the Device Names I assigned them during installation. However if I click on the “My Account” tab within NM I see that the device name against the licence entry for the XP desktop is the real computer name but that the device names against the remaining 2 licence entries are blank ( I would expect only one to be blank as that would represent the laptop running NIS 2011). 

 

NM has created  a bit of a mess.

peterweb
Posts: 9,184
Kudos: 1,462
Solutions: 365
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Norton Management issues


Newboy999 wrote:

The installation seemed to go OK on the 2 desktops, but since then NIS seems to have become disabled on the laptop for some reason. When I log into Norton Management the 2 desktops appear with the Device Names I assigned them during installation. However if I click on the “My Account” tab within NM I see that the device name against the licence entry for the XP desktop is the real computer name but that the device names against the remaining 2 licence entries are blank ( I would expect only one to be blank as that would represent the laptop running NIS 2011). 

 

NM has created  a bit of a mess.



The good news is that your old XP desktop does show up in the my account section. This will enable you to remove that computer from your account when you are ready to retire it. On the My Account tab just click on the trash can beside the entry for your XP computer and the install will be freed up.


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
Newboy999
Posts: 29
Topics: 9
Kudos: 1
Solutions: 0
Registered: ‎07-12-2011

Re: Norton Management issues

[ Edited ]

Thats true Peter but then I will be left with 2 licences showing blank device names. I won't be able to tell which licence belongs to the WIN 7 desktop and which belongs to the WIN 7 laptop.

 

That makes Norton Management useless to me for any other management tasks in the future.

 

 

 

huwyngr
Posts: 21,822
Topics: 1,038
Kudos: 2,862
Solutions: 380
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Norton Management issues

See if what Peter says about deleting the XP entry works ... I've never used NM to do this.

 

But if after that and maybe some refresh if its available (perhaps checking subscription status on the remaining two PCs to see if that jogs the management) it's still not right I guess you could either contact CHAT or reassign names to the blanks?

 

To contact customer support Click on this link https://www.norton.com/chat   and work on from there.

Please let us know how you get on ....



Hugh
peterweb
Posts: 9,184
Kudos: 1,462
Solutions: 365
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Norton Management issues

[ Edited ]

Newboy999 wrote:

Thats true Peter but then I will be left with 2 licences showing blank device names. I won't be able to tell which licence belongs to the WIN 7 desktop and which belongs to the WIN 7 laptop.

 

That makes Norton Management useless to me for any other management tasks in the future.

 

 

 


Those are showing as blank on the My Norton tab, but you say they show correctly on the My Devices tab. You will be able to use those entries to manage those computers.

 

The My Account tab is for managing computers where you have not installed the Norton Management App.

 

I too have the computer I am using for this post that does not show up on the My Account tab, but works correctly from the My Devices tab.


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.
Newboy999
Posts: 29
Topics: 9
Kudos: 1
Solutions: 0
Registered: ‎07-12-2011

Re: Norton Management issues

[ Edited ]

Peter,

 

I'm willing to admit that my understanding of how Norton Management works is maybe incomplete (the so called HELP is useless in my opinion).

 

But I thought that the computers that (correctly) appear in the My Devices tab are simply simply "removed" from the world of Norton Management if the "remove" icon is selected - and the licence status for that computer remains unchanged if it was to be "removed". The actual licence status for a computer is changed by going to the My Account tab and selecting the "Remove Licence" for the chosen computer.

 

Is my understanding incorrect?  

 

Hugh - thanks for the advice but I don't want to remove NIS from the XP machine just yet - the replacement system is on order but won't be here for about 10 days or so.     

huwyngr
Posts: 21,822
Topics: 1,038
Kudos: 2,862
Solutions: 380
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Norton Management issues


Newboy999 wrote:

Peter,

 

[ ... ] Stick with Peter for Management since he uses it!

 

Hugh - thanks for the advice but I don't want to remove NIS from the XP machine just yet - the replacement system is on order but won't be here for about 10 days or so.     


When you get the new onedon't forget to check for trial installations of security applications and get details of the matching tool to clean up after uninstalling -- we have links here for Norton and most others.



Hugh
peterweb
Posts: 9,184
Kudos: 1,462
Solutions: 365
Registered: ‎04-17-2008

Re: Norton Management issues


Newboy999 wrote:

 

But I thought that the computers that (correctly) appear in the My Devices tab are simply simply "removed" from the world of Norton Management if the "remove" icon is selected - and the licence status for that computer remains unchanged if it was to be "removed". The actual licence status for a computer is changed by going to the My Account tab and selecting the "Remove Licence" for the chosen computer.

 

Is my understanding incorrect?  

 

 


When you delete a device from the My Devices tab, it will disable your Norton product on that computer. See below the page that comes up when  you click on the trash can.

 

remove device.JPG

 


Things happen. Export/Backup your Identity Safe data.