Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Newbie
mailman
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-01-2011

Performance Alert

What does it mean when the performance alert pops up and it says "High memory usuage" and " High CPU usuage" by Internet Explorer?

Norton Fighter
mdturner
Posts: 5,308
Registered: ‎04-11-2008

Re: Performance Alert


mailman wrote:

What does it mean when the performance alert pops up and it says "High memory usuage" and " High CPU usuage" by Internet Explorer?


Hi mailman

 

Welcome to the Norton Community Forums

 

It means that system resources are being heavily used by whatever Internet Explorer is doing at the time - often this can be when streaming movies to your PC.

We look forward to the time when the Power of Love will replace the Love of Power. Then will our world know the blessings of peace. ~William Ewart Gladstone

Visitor
myN360
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎01-20-2010

Re: Performance Alert

Then what you should do after the popup?

just ignore it?

floplot
Posts: 10,576
Topics: 215
Kudos: 2,051
Solutions: 365
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: Performance Alert

Hello myN360

 

Here  is some information from the help file for Performance Alert

 


Norton Internet Security notifies you with a performance alert displaying information about the program name and resources that the program uses excessively. The Details & Settings link in the notification alert lets you view additional details about the resource consumption by the program. The File Insight window displays the details of the file, the origin of the file, and the complete resource usage list of the program. From the File Insight window, you can choose to exclude the program from being monitored. You can use the Settings option in the File Insight window to turn off the Performance Alerting option.


It is alerting you to what is going on.for you to decide if your computer can handle what is going on. You can investigate what is causing the  performance alert.

 

Thanks.

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




SendOfJive
Posts: 10,755
Kudos: 4,795
Solutions: 776
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Performance Alert

 


myN360 wrote:

Then what you should do after the popup?

just ignore it?


 

Hi myN360,

 

Pretty much, yes.  Many programs get busy from time to time and need to use more resources than they might normally require.  Browsers are very prone to this as they can sometimes have many tabs open at one time, or can be processing Flash content or other similarly demanding stuff.  The Norton Performance alerts are just to inform you when a program is using a large percentage of available resources so that you can keep an eye on the situation.  Usually, it is a temporary condition involving a program that is doing extra work for a legitimate reason.

Norton Fighter
mdturner
Posts: 5,308
Registered: ‎04-11-2008

Re: Performance Alert

[ Edited ]

myN360 wrote:

Then what you should do after the popup?

just ignore it?


Hi myN360

 

If it is something that is happening on a regular basis then it would be worth investigating whether more memory could be added to help the situation. You could also check if there are any unnecessary startup programs running that are using up valuable system resources.

 

 

We look forward to the time when the Power of Love will replace the Love of Power. Then will our world know the blessings of peace. ~William Ewart Gladstone

Rootkit Eradicator
elsewhere
Posts: 1,408
Registered: ‎05-30-2009

Re: Performance Alert


myN360 wrote:

Then what you should do after the popup?

just ignore it?


Hi myN360 and welcome to the Norton Community.

 

The choice is entirely yours. If you would prefer that your Norton product didn't show a 'Performance Alert' pop-up for Internet Explorer if you experience the same performance alerts that forum member 'mailman' describes above, then you can add Internet Explorer to the 'Performance Monitoring' Program Exclusion List as shown below in the Miscellaneous Settings window:

 

NIS 2011 Misc Settings Program Exclusions.jpg

 

Norton Internet Security 2011 Settings Window shown above.

Super Spam Squasher
Bombastus
Posts: 1,795
Registered: ‎11-16-2009

Re: Performance Alert

In many cases, high CPU or RAM usage is a good thing, not a bad. If you play a 3D-game, for example, you certainly want it to use as much as possible of all the available system resources, or the performance will take a hit.

huwyngr
Posts: 21,623
Topics: 1,034
Kudos: 2,820
Solutions: 376
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Performance Alert


Bombastus wrote:

In many cases, high CPU or RAM usage is a good thing, not a bad. If you play a 3D-game, for example, you certainly want it to use as much as possible of all the available system resources, or the performance will take a hit.


Yeah -- I paid good money for that CPU and RAM and I don't want them sitting there doing nothing while I sweat over the keyboard ..... <g>



Hugh
AllenM
Posts: 10,297
Topics: 226
Kudos: 2,152
Solutions: 379
Registered: ‎12-14-2008

Re: Performance Alert

[ Edited ]

Hi mailman,

 

Welcome to the Norton Community. :smileyhappy:

 

The Performance Alerts are new to the 2011 product line and as such will need to be tweaked to be the most useful both in terms of not unnecessarily alerting you to "temporary" conditions as well as making more of it user configurable.

 

Please see this post by a Symantec employee indicating that Symantec is considering enhancements over time to make this feature more configurable.

 

Also in addition to what elsewhere said in this post, you can also set "Resource threshold profile for Alerting" to HIGH to minimize the number of alerts for what is essentially in many cases a "false positive". I did this on my computer and it helped reduce the number of alerts to something more realistic. :smileywink:

 

Hope this helps.

 

Best wishes.

Allen

Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1, 64 bit, 32 GB * NIS Vers. 21.4.0.13 * Ghost 15 * IE 9, Firefox, Safari.
Test laptop with W7 Home Premium 64 bit * NIS Vers. 21.3.0.12