Reply
Visitor
spearson1491
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-14-2012

Phishing using Norton as the bait?

Got an mail this morning from "norton.security[dot]org".  Subject line is "Get.protected.with.Norton.Update.Now!"  

 

It actually comes from "broadbandhookups.info".

 

I'm assuming people already know about this? 

 

Scott

 

 

Symantec Employee
muralisripada
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎09-29-2011

Re: Phishing using Norton as the bait?

Hi,

 

With the information provided by you, I have checked the website and found this information.

 

Is the website address nortonsecurity.org or norton.security.org

 

The below description for nortonsecurity.org

 

NortonSecurity.org is operated by Searchlight Systems, Inc. Founded in 2008, we aim to provide only the best quality products and services online. As such, we're proud to be a registered Worldwide Partner of Symantec. Symantec is known around the world for industry-leading security products, including the famous Norton Antivirus brand. We value your privacy and online security, so please make sure you review our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

 

Thanks, 

Murali


Visitor
spearson1491
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-14-2012

Re: Phishing using Norton as the bait?

If you had read my post more closely, you would have read that the email in question actually came from broadbandhookups.info.   Or are you trying to tell me that broadbandhookups.info is a legitimate part of Norton? 

 

Scott

Symantec Employee
muralisripada
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎09-29-2011

Re: Phishing using Norton as the bait?

Hi, 

 

As mentioned earlier NortonSecurity.org is operated by Searchlight Systems, Inc. Founded in 2008 and not affliated with Symantec or Norton.

 

For reference :

Please visit this thread : norton@nortonfromsymantec.com email legit?


http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-360/norton-nortonfromsymantec-com-email-legit/m-p/713689

 

Thanks, 

Murali.

Visitor
spearson1491
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-14-2012

Re: Phishing using Norton as the bait?

You are deliberately avoiding the question, which was asking if an email that came from broadbandhookups.info was a legitimate Norton email.  If not, then the question was, is it a phishing email? 

 

And as I mentioned, the email came from broadbandhookups.info, not from any of the norton sites you mention.

 

I posted it here because I could not find anyplace online to forward phishing emails that use Norton as a front to get people to click on the links in the email to download a trojan to disable Norton software and allow a trojan to be installed in the background.

 

BTW, in an email you need to view the source in order to find out the real URLs involved.   You can teach any 8-year old how to hide the real URL with fake ones.  It's just basic HTML.  The ones that you are stuck on aren't the real URLs for the links in the message.

 

Also, the link you directed me to has nothing in common with the email I received. 

 

 

 

 

Regular Contributor
rao
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎02-22-2010

Re: Phishing using Norton as the bait? - update

fyi

 

Unread     NortonSecurity.org  Warning: Thinkpoint virus. 1:38 PM 5KB

NortonSecurity.org email (AT&TAppsBeta@att.sbc.bellsouth.juno.in)

 

Unread     Norton Anti-Virus Protection  Warning- You may not be protected by Norton. Update Now.

Norton Anti-Virus Protection  Warning  email(Norton-AntiVirusProtection@creativeusseventeen.in)

 

Windows 7 Home Premium x64 SP1, 360 v5.2.2.3, IE 9

 

deleted both

Please update thank you rao

 

 

Contributor
2YsUR
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎06-03-2012

Re: Phishing using Norton as the bait?


spearson1491 wrote:

You are deliberately avoiding the question, which was asking if an email that came from broadbandhookups.info was a legitimate Norton email.  If not, then the question was, is it a phishing email? .... 


I'm confused as you.  If you understand any of those answers please explain it to me.:smileysad:
___________________________
2Ys U R 2Ys U B I C U R 2Ys 4 Me
Visitor
spearson1491
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-14-2012

Re: Phishing using Norton as the bait?

It was a typical customer service ploy of just saying anything regardless of whether or not it had anything to do with the problem.  As long as they replied pushing one or more of the company's product, they can show they responded to a customer complaint.   Whether or not they helped the situation or the customer is entirely irrelevant.  They could have responded by talking about cheese baboons if they had a company logo on them, and corporate would have patted themselves on the back for having excellent customer service.

dickevans
Posts: 9,275
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Phishing using Norton as the bait?


spearson1491 wrote:

It was a typical customer service ploy of just saying anything regardless of whether or not it had anything to do with the problem.  As long as they replied pushing one or more of the company's product, they can show they responded to a customer complaint.   Whether or not they helped the situation or the customer is entirely irrelevant.  They could have responded by talking about cheese baboons if they had a company logo on them, and corporate would have patted themselves on the back for having excellent customer service.


Hi,

I must apologize for the poor response above. I suspect that there may have been a bit of a language disconnect involved. The information provided is valid. The inofrmation missing is that the email is at least spam and best deleted before reading.

I know that the customer support people are doing the best they can but they have one very difficult limitation to overcome. They can only hire humans who are very falible and subject to failure. Please for give them.

If you haven't tried using the AI program available as part of the customer support package I recommend that you do. Perhaps then you will be able to cope with the humans a bit better.

As always, stay well and surf safe

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V20
SendOfJive
Posts: 9,908
Kudos: 4,195
Solutions: 706
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Phishing using Norton as the bait?

[ Edited ]

Hi spearson1491,

 

The domain that the email actually originated from is not really of much significance, and that is perhaps why your question was misunderstood.  Spam is sent from "hit and run" domains that are used for only a short period and then abandoned.  Assuming this was a phishing attempt, the phishing site would not be the domain from which the email came - "broadbandhookups.info" - but rather, the website that the email was directing you to in order to obtain "Norton Update."  Neither site would be likely to be up for very long, however. 

 

Informing you that the "nortonsecurity.org" address was not a Symantec address actually answered the question because email received from any domain with that address spoofed in the "From" field would not be legitimate.  And almost certainly, the same email was being sent the next day from an entirely different domain.  Symantec does track these things as explained in the following article:

 

http://www.symantec.com/connect/blogs/rise-urls-spam