Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Newbie
tbryder
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-18-2009

STOP NORTON ANTIVIRUS SERVICE

In Norton AntiVirus 2009 you could stop the Norton AntiVirus service from running either by: 1) using net stop "Norton AntiVirus" or 2.) going to Control Panel - Administrative Tools - Services and stopping the service. In 2010 this is not available. I use XP Professional SP3 and cannot disable/stop the service. Has anyone any idea on how to do it or if it even can be done?

Volunteer
yogesh_mohan
Posts: 5,302
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: STOP NORTON ANTIVIRUS SERVICE

Hi tbryder,

 

Welcome to Norton Community!

 

Try to disable the Norton Tamper Protection from Miscellanious Settings and then try to stop the service. Let us know the results.

 

Yogesh

Newbie
tbryder
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-18-2009

Re: STOP NORTON ANTIVIRUS SERVICE

I did as you recommended and turned off the Norton Product Tamper Protection and the service is still not available to be stopped (Greyed out).
Virus Trouncer
mijcar
Posts: 3,098
Registered: ‎08-01-2008

Re: STOP NORTON ANTIVIRUS SERVICE

[ Edited ]

tbryder wrote:
I did as you recommended and turned off the Norton Product Tamper Protection and the service is still not available to be stopped (Greyed out).

Did you try rebooting inbetween turning off the tamper protection and returning to the services menu?

 

By the way, I am not suggesting that is a good or even acceptable solution.  I am just curious as to whether it will work at all.  I think you have pointed out an important bug and I want to see how far it extends.  It also may be linked to another bug uncovered by another user regarding the use of msconfig.

Message Edited by mijcar on 09-19-2009 09:32 AM
mij
N360 2013, v.20.1.0.24; Win7 Pro, SP1 (32 bit), IE 9, Firefox 14, No other active securityware
PapauZ
Posts: 6,792
Topics: 392
Kudos: 1,025
Solutions: 374
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: STOP NORTON ANTIVIRUS SERVICE

The 2010 products were designed originally this way that you can not simply turn off the service from the services list.
It was done because some really sophisticated treats can turn off the security softwares that way too, and there was some complaining in the "suggestion for 2010 products" topic too, that it is too easy to kill the NAV/NIS/N360 processes. Now it is solved....


Windows 8.1 Embedded Industry Pro x64 Hungarian, Norton 360 v21.3.0.12

Super Virus Trouncer
bjm_
Posts: 2,234
Registered: ‎09-07-2008

Re: STOP NORTON ANTIVIRUS SERVICE

Hi PapauZ

 

PapauZ wrote:  Now it is solved....

___________________________________

 

Please clarify ~ by solved do you mean there is no way to temp disable AV.   My reason for asking is I have a Registry Defrag app that requires AV disable.  I pull internet connection and with 09...  rt.click sys tray Icon Disable AV.   When I installed SP2 to Vista.  Microsoft advised temp disable AV on Install of SP2.  I'm sure there are other examples.....

 

Is there method w 10 to temp disable AV / FW as with 09.

 

Regards

bjm_

 

 

PapauZ
Posts: 6,792
Topics: 392
Kudos: 1,025
Solutions: 374
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: STOP NORTON ANTIVIRUS SERVICE

[ Edited ]

bjm_ wrote:

Hi PapauZ

 

PapauZ wrote:  Now it is solved....

___________________________________

 

Please clarify ~ by solved do you mean there is no way to temp disable AV.


I mean as "it is solved" that peoples 'feature request' was heard, and Symantec designed 2010 not to be able to stop from services.


My reason for asking is I have a Registry Defrag app that requires AV disable.  I pull internet connection and with 09...  rt.click sys tray Icon Disable AV.   When I installed SP2 to Vista.  Microsoft advised temp disable AV on Install of SP2.  I'm sure there are other examples.....

 

Is there method w 10 to temp disable AV / FW as with 09.

 

Regards

bjm_

 

 


Try one of these methods:
1. You can turn off norton's features on the main page by clicking on the little green ""buttons"", or right click on the tray icon. This way norton will still run, but will not do anything.
2. Configure windows to run in a clean boot, that way only MS programs and services will start, nothing else.

Let us know the results which one was good for you.




EDIT: I hope you are asking about stopping norton from Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services, which way the whole service will stop, and not from the feature turn off (right click on the tray icon). The tray stopping is still in the program....

Message Edited by PapauZ on 09-20-2009 12:52 AM


Windows 8.1 Embedded Industry Pro x64 Hungarian, Norton 360 v21.3.0.12

Super Virus Trouncer
bjm_
Posts: 2,234
Registered: ‎09-07-2008

Re: STOP NORTON ANTIVIRUS SERVICE

Hi PapauZ

 

My bad...I musta' had a senior moment....I thought the message thread was referring to not able to stop Norton from UI and SysTray....the idea of stopping Norton via Control Panel or Local Services was not where my head was at.  I was only thinking of temp disable of AV from rt.click or main window UI. 

So, Norton cannot be stopped from Local Services in ver10. 

I recall a OneClickSupport error fix for NIS09 was to Stop/Start Terminal Services...Stop/Start NIS and reboot...  forget which error #.   

Interesting people's "feature request" was not to be able to stop from Services.  Had no idea Norton was vulnerable via Services.  

This Forum is a great Knowledge Base and learning tool.  Now, if I could only remember what I learn.

 

Regards

bjm_

 

Contributor
MikeMcr
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎01-19-2009

Re: STOP NORTON ANTIVIRUS SERVICE

Yes, let's not give the impression we are unhappy with this change. Full marks to Symantec for preventing the service from being stopped.

 

The fact you could stop the 2009 service manually via control panel or a command prompt was a major flaw and any malware could easily do the same.

 

2010 is working correctly. If you want to stop Norton, you do it via the GUI.

Newbie
tbryder
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-18-2009

Re: STOP NORTON ANTIVIRUS SERVICE

Disabling Norton Tamper Protection did not work. Even after rebooting still am not able to stop the service.

 

While I understand the reasoning the Norton has in making this service unavailable, there should be a way to configure this during installation. For example during install maybe it asks you do you want to making the Norton AntiVirus service protected. Or maybe a setting that can be turned on or off in Norton to make the service available.

 

Well if anyone else has any ideas... Cool otherwise... I guess until next year....