Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Contributor
63gc

Searchnu.com/406

What is searchnu.com/406 & how do i get it off my computer.

Edjr60

Re: Searchnu.com/406

Hi 63gc,

I am not an expert on this, but you can read a thread here at the community about your problem.

http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-Internet-Security-Norton/searchqu-com-406-removal/td-p/460968

Contributor
63gc

Thank you for your reply.

I have'nt a clue about computers meself. And thought Norton would take care of internet security matter's for me. Suppose im naive.

Am i correct in thinking at the end of all the replies on that post, that there is no solid answer ?

What does this actually do to your computer ? Is it someone trying to steal my details etc ?

Edjr60

[ Edited ]

Hi 63gc,

It's not that there is no solid answer, just the right people with the knowledge and experience can help much better. People like the Symantec employees and Guru's at the site.

If you were to start a new separate thread, make sure to reference your computer operating system, the Norton product you are using, it's version/build number, all browsers you use and any other security products that may be on your computer. Explain in full detail about this possible malware you may have and exactly what it is doing.

I hope this helps a little.

Edjr60

SearchnuSupport

Hi,

I'm a member of the Searchnu Support Team. I'm here to help :)

From the URL you provided it looks like Searchnu was installed on your PC when you
installed iLivid- a download manager which includes Searchnu as an option.

When the software was installed onto your pc it offered two basic installs, typical installation,
which lists the add-on features such as searchnu default search, and Custom installation,
which allows you to select the add-ons that you wish to install. There's no need to worry if you did the typical install - this isn't a virus,nor malware, and there's no need to Perform a virus scan against it.