Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
ConorD
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-20-2010
Accepted Solution

Symantec Install Stub

I already have an anti virus, and need to get rid of this, however, whenever I put it into the recycle bin and empty it, when I restart my computer, It comes back again, please help me.

floplot
Posts: 10,608
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,055
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: Symantec Install Stub

Hello ConorD

 

Welcome to the Norton Community

 

Are you saying that you are using another company's antivirus program and you want to uninstall Norton Antivirus program? Could you please clarify what you mean?

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




Visitor
ConorD
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-20-2010

Re: Symantec Install Stub

[ Edited ]

I have a program on my computer, which I want to delete, when I try to delete, it says "Symantec Install stub" And has a norton logo on it, when I look at properties, 

 

It says this. System32\Adobe\Shockwave 11\nssstub.exe" /download

 

Yes, I have another anti virus, and this one was just on my computer (I don't know why)

floplot
Posts: 10,608
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,055
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: Symantec Install Stub

Hello ConorD

 

You got this Norton Security Scan by not unclicking the check mark when you installed Adobe Shockwave. It's a sneaky install due to Adobe.

 

Please follow Yogesh's post in this thread to remove the program.

 

http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-Internet-Security-Norton/Norton-Security-scan/m-p/65461#M34474

 

Please come back and let us know if this does the trick for you. Thanks.

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




Visitor
ConorD
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-20-2010

Re: Symantec Install Stub

[ Edited ]

Ignore this if you see, only just see you posted, so Adobe had a sneaky update when I was downloading it?

 

Where can I find the Windows temporary folder?

Visitor
ConorD
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-20-2010

Re: Symantec Install Stub

Sorry for double posting, I have vista, and there is no Scheduled tasks in my Control pannel.. :smileysad:

floplot
Posts: 10,608
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,055
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: Symantec Install Stub

Hello Conor

 

Have you read this thread?

 

http://community.norton.com/t5/Other-Norton-Products/Getting-rid-of-Norton-Security-Scan/td-p/47532/...

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




Visitor
ConorD
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-20-2010

Re: Symantec Install Stub

Yes, I have read that,

 

I haven't installed it, because when I tried, it wouldn't work, so it's not in Add/remove programs, And I am running vista, and there is no scheduled tasks on my control panel.

floplot
Posts: 10,608
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,055
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: Symantec Install Stub

Hello ConorD

 

Here is a site which should help you find the scheduled tasks and then maybe you can continue using the method in that other thread. Maybe you will find that Security Scan listed there. I'm running xp pro, so I'm not that familiar with Vista. I did a Google search to find out about scheduled tasks in Vista. Thanks.

 

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/939039

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




Visitor
ConorD
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎11-20-2010

Re: Symantec Install Stub

I'm fairly new with computers, but where would I find Delete the NSSStub.exe from the scheduled tasks

 

Thanks.