Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
Papageitaucher
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎06-28-2008
Accepted Solution

Symantec Service Framework errors with NIS 16.5.0.135

Lately I am encountering numerous Symantec Service Framework errors with ccsvchst.exe crashing and the NIS systray icon disappearing. I am still running NIS 16.5.0.135 but I am aware that there is an update NIS 16.7.2.10 with an aditional hotfix to address this problem.

 

Where can I get the update NIS 16.7.2.10 along with the hotfix? I did not get either through LiveUpdate.

 

Please help!

 

Newbie
lineof200
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-25-2009

Re: Symantec Service Framework errors with NIS 16.5.0.135

The hotfix should be here.

 

Updates for any subscription should be here

Yaso_Kuuhl
Posts: 5,799
Kudos: 1,437
Solutions: 528
Registered: ‎02-19-2009

Re: Symantec Service Framework errors with NIS 16.5.0.135

Hi Papageitaucher,

The 16.7 patch was withdrawn after many users starting having problems with it and ended up having to download the hotfix (among other things). More information on the 16.7 patch and its withdrawal is available over here:

http://community.norton.com/norton/board/message?board.id=nis_feedback&thread.id=67948

It is not yet known when the revamped patch will be released. 

Contributor
Papageitaucher
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎06-28-2008

Re: Symantec Service Framework errors with NIS 16.5.0.135

Thanks guys - looks like I have to wait for a new NIS 2009 update version and turn NIS off for now and rely on the Windows XP firewall instead:smileysad:.
Yaso_Kuuhl
Posts: 5,799
Kudos: 1,437
Solutions: 528
Registered: ‎02-19-2009

Re: Symantec Service Framework errors with NIS 16.5.0.135

[ Edited ]

Papageitaucher wrote:
Thanks guys - looks like I have to wait for a new NIS 2009 update version and turn NIS off for now and rely on the Windows XP firewall instead:smileysad:.

No need to turn off NIS, the faulty patch is not being released anymore via LiveUpdate. In fact, if you don't use LiveUpdate, you won't get the virus definitions...or the revamped patch once it is released again (no idea when this will be, though). In other words, I wouldn't rely on the Windows XP firewall. Also, I think it can only block inbound connections, not outbound ones. NIS firewall is two-way (controls both inbound and outbound traffic).

Message Edited by Yaso_Kuuhl on 08-25-2009 06:07 PM
Symantec Employee
weil
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎03-23-2009

Re: Symantec Service Framework errors with NIS 16.5.0.135

Hello, Papageotaicer,

 

If you applied the hotfix, then you don't need to worry NIS doesn't work. The hotfix fixes the problem.

Contributor
Papageitaucher
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎06-28-2008

Re: Symantec Service Framework errors with NIS 16.5.0.135

[ Edited ]

Hello, weil

are you saying that the hotfix is not only for NIS 16.7 but also for my older version 16.5 ?

Is it really safe for me to install the hotfix in this case?

Thanks

Message Edited by Papageitaucher on 08-25-2009 08:44 PM
Yaso_Kuuhl
Posts: 5,799
Kudos: 1,437
Solutions: 528
Registered: ‎02-19-2009

Re: Symantec Service Framework errors with NIS 16.5.0.135

[ Edited ]

Oops, sorry about that, there was a blank message here for a few minutes, Papageitaucher :-) I don't know if the hotfix can be applied to .135, let's see if someone who knows the definite answer posts here ;-) I thought it was only meant for the 16.7 patch, but weil's answer has also confused me a bit ;-))

PS: Are you completely sure you did not receive the 16.7 update? You may only know if you see a folder under

C:\ Program Files\ Norton Internet Security\Engine (I think that's the path).

Message Edited by Yaso_Kuuhl on 08-25-2009 09:03 PM
Yaso_Kuuhl
Posts: 5,799
Kudos: 1,437
Solutions: 528
Registered: ‎02-19-2009

Re: Symantec Service Framework errors with NIS 16.5.0.135

Papageitaucher, please hang on in there, I've flagged down a guru to look at your thread.

Nur keine Sorge ;-)

delphinium
Posts: 9,862
Kudos: 2,965
Solutions: 293
Registered: ‎11-21-2008

Re: Symantec Service Framework errors with NIS 16.5.0.135

Papageitaucher:

 

Your 16.5.0.135 or 134 version should work as it has always done.  Have you checked under Help & Support- about to confirm what version you have.  There have not been framework error problems on the older version for some time.

 

The hotfix will not work on 16.5..  It will tell you that you require the 16.7 version before it will run.

Under certain circumstances profanity provides relief denied even to prayer.
Mark Twain