Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Regular Contributor
Eraserone
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎06-17-2008

Updates Available popup

Hi again

 

Everytime i turn on my computer Live Update pops up saying Updates available do you want to update it Yes or No

 

How do i make this from stop popping up? i updated them then when i rebooted and started my computer it will say new updates when i know theres no updates

 

I Open NIS 2008 click on Options then Norton Internet security then Live Update And Notify me when updates are available is unchecked i did check it once and this is when the problem started i unchecked it and still get the pops up annoying

 

Help.

Symantec Employee
reese_anschultz
Posts: 2,562
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Updates Available popup

I think that the first issue is to resolve why it thinks that there are updates available. I have never heard of a case where somebody was told that an update is available when one isn't. Try running LUALL.EXE and see if it reports any updates available.
Reese Anschultz
Senior Software Quality Assurance Manager, Symantec Corporation

Regular Contributor
Eraserone
Posts: 106
Registered: ‎06-17-2008

Re: Updates Available popup

[ Edited ]

Will when i click Yes thats what pops up when i  run LUALL.EXE,

 

When i turned on my computer it popped up saying new updates available and click yes and open the LUALL.EXE

 

And there was updates to install. So then did a few things, and then rebooted computer to see if it would pop up

 

And immediately it popped up saying there are New Updates to install click Yes or No, I clicked yes and says

 

  Thank you for using Live Update


 

All of the Symantic products and components  installed on your computer are currentl up-to-date. Remember to check for new updates frequently.

 

So obviously live update pop up when it shouldnt.

 

I like to go back the way i had it without it popping up and run live update when i open NIS, I want the live update popup to go away.

 

 

Message Edited by Eraserone on 07-29-2008 05:04 AM
Symantec Employee
reese_anschultz
Posts: 2,562
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Updates Available popup

Try running LUALL manually, not from the popup dialog. I suspect that you'll still see an update.

 

As far as the popup is concerned, I don't really have any idea why it persists despite you changing the setting.

Reese Anschultz
Senior Software Quality Assurance Manager, Symantec Corporation

Visitor
JimW
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: Updates Available popup

[ Edited ]
I have the exact problem. Each time I log on, pop up says updates available. Will run update, log off computer then log back on and it pops up again. This occurs at every log in. Has been this way since installed. Really annoying.
Message Edited by JimW on 07-29-2008 06:20 PM
TomiRed
Posts: 908
Topics: 86
Kudos: 161
Solutions: 27
Registered: ‎06-19-2008

Re: Updates Available popup

[ Edited ]

I had this issue on my Vista.

 

The problem is that the Luall.exe item in the Run section in the windows registry ..

 

here >           HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run 

 

remains there irrespective of the changes in NIS settings. I used Windows Defender to remove it and it solved this issue.

 

It is though definitely something that Norton developers should fix.

Message Edited by TomiRed on 07-30-2008 02:46 AM
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1 -- NIS 21
Visitor
JimW
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: Updates Available popup


TomiRed wrote:

I had this issue on my Vista.

 

The problem is that the Luall.exe item in the Run section in the windows registry ..

 

here >           HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run 

 

remains there irrespective of the changes in NIS settings. I used Windows Defender to remove it and it solved this issue.

 

It is though definitely something that Norton developers should fix.

Message Edited by TomiRed on 07-30-2008 02:46 AM

 

Thanks TomiRed!

 

I run Vista too. Deleted the following registry entry and solved my problem!

 

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

C:\ProgramFiles\Symantec\LiveUpdate\ALuNotify.exe

 

Thanks for leading the way to it.

 

Jim

TomiRed
Posts: 908
Topics: 86
Kudos: 161
Solutions: 27
Registered: ‎06-19-2008

Re: Updates Available popup

You're welcome.

 

I deleted it so long ago that I forgot which program it ran in the first place. So, as you wrote, it's ALUNotify.exe. Not Luall.exe

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1 -- NIS 21
Newbie
masteen
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-31-2008

Re: Updates Available popup

Different question on a similar line:

 Is there any way I can specify what time my Norton checks for, downloads, and installs updates?  It's really annoying when it starts doing its thing when I'm playing WoW or downloading something from iTunes.

I'd like to let it update automatically, but I must be able to tell it when it can.