Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
saxifraga
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-02-2009
Accepted Solution

Windows Vista doesn't recognize NIS

Shortly after starting up my computer, windows security center generates a warning that no antivirus software is installed and the computer therefore not protected, although NIS is installed and is working perfectly. When activating window's firewall, as suggested by this warning, NIS quickly suggests to select Norton's firewall.

 

How do I urge Vista to recognize NIS?

 

Thanks for help!

delphinium
Posts: 9,862
Kudos: 2,965
Solutions: 293
Registered: ‎11-21-2008

Re: Windows Vista doesn't recognize NIS

Saxifraga:

 

What version of NIS do you have at the moment.  You will be able to find the version number under Help & Support>About.  It should start with 16. or 17.

Under certain circumstances profanity provides relief denied even to prayer.
Mark Twain
Volunteer
yogesh_mohan
Posts: 5,302
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: Windows Vista doesn't recognize NIS

Hi Saxifraga,

 

Welcome to Norton Community!

 

Sometimes, unregistering and re-registering WMIUTILS.DLL file will fix this issue.

1. Click the Start button, and then click All Programs > Accessories > Run.

2. In the Run dialog box, type the following text:

regsvr32 /u WMIUTILS.DLL

3. Click OK.

4. Restart the computer.

5. Click the Start button, and then click All Programs > Accessories > Run.

6. In the Run dialog box, type the following text:

regsvr32 WMIUTILS.DLL

7. Click OK.

8. Restart the computer.

 

The problem is that your Windows Security Center does not recognize the Norton Internet Security. There is nothing to worry about this, as long as Norton program shows GREEN check mark in the system tray, you don't have to worry about the protection for your computer. You can ignore this warning from the Security Center.

 

Yogesh

SendOfJive
Posts: 10,782
Kudos: 4,837
Solutions: 779
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Windows Vista doesn't recognize NIS

Hi saxifraga,

 

The solution may be to check and, if necessary, rebuild the WMI repository that Windows Security Center uses to keep track of installed security software.  There is a simple procedure for doing this that is explained in the following articles:

 

http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/195736-security-center-not-reporting-correct-information.html

 

http://www.winhelponline.com/blog/security-center-not-reporting-anti-virus-or-firewall-status-correc...
Visitor
saxifraga
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Windows Vista doesn't recognize NIS

Hello Delphinium,

 

my version number is 10.4.0.13

 

The Antivirus service was renewed this October for another year.

Visitor
saxifraga
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Windows Vista doesn't recognize NIS


yogesh_mohan wrote:

There is nothing to worry about this, as long as Norton program shows GREEN check mark in the system tray, you don't have to worry about the protection for your computer. You can ignore this warning from the Security Center.

 


 

 That's exactly what I did for some time now, nevertheless the repeated warnings are boring.

Volunteer
yogesh_mohan
Posts: 5,302
Registered: ‎07-29-2008

Re: Windows Vista doesn't recognize NIS

Did you try the instructions from my previous post?
Yaso_Kuuhl
Posts: 5,799
Kudos: 1,438
Solutions: 528
Registered: ‎02-19-2009

Re: Windows Vista doesn't recognize NIS


saxifraga wrote:

Hello Delphinium,

 

my version number is 10.4.0.13

 

The Antivirus service was renewed this October for another year.


Hi saxifraga,

 

It looks like you are running NIS 2007. You can upgrade for free to NIS 2010 (users of Norton 2006 or later can upgrade for free to Norton 2010 products). You can download and save the full NIS 2010 package to your computer from this link:

http://www.norton.com/nis10

 

Let NIS 2010 install over NIS 2007; NIS 2010 will remove 2007, reboot your computer and install itself. It should pick up your product key automatically.

Visitor
saxifraga
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Windows Vista doesn't recognize NIS


Yaso_Kuuhl wrote:

 

Let NIS 2010 install over NIS 2007; NIS 2010 will remove 2007, reboot your computer and install itself. It should pick up your product key automatically.


Seemed to me to be a good solution and so I downloaded the 2010 update w/o problems.

During installation, when restart of computer was requested, Windows was unable to restart and did so only with starting repair and resetting to repairpoint before installation of update.

With this, unfortunately the update was lost again. 

After having gone through this cycle twice, I'm now where I was before.

Many thanks anyhow!

Yaso_Kuuhl
Posts: 5,799
Kudos: 1,438
Solutions: 528
Registered: ‎02-19-2009

Re: Windows Vista doesn't recognize NIS

Hi saxifraga,

 

I am sorry to hear about this; did you already try out SendOfJive's and/or Yogesh's suggestions?