06-13-2012 10:27 AM
I am planning to start using "Norton Online Backup" but I cannot be sure about the backup strategy of Norton for deleted files and folders.
I want to backup up some files/folders once in a while and I want them to remain in my online backup storage forever (without any duration limitation) even if I remove them from my local computer.
Basically what I need is "very strict no deletion strategy" for my backed-up files.
Does Norton Online Backup work in this way or does it work like some other online storage solutions which can be summarized as follows:
If the file is deleted from local then keep it at the on-line storage for some days (30 days or 90 days) then remove the file also from online storage? (This is definitely what I do not want)
Could you please let me know how it actually works in case of file/folder deletion?
06-27-2012 02:04 PM
Norton Online Backup does not work like an archival service as you're describing. Once you delete the files locally you'd only be able to restore them from older backup sets where they existed prior. There would basically be a little bit of extra work for you to recall where the file was located or you can use the search feature, within the restore page, to locate them. That may still require you to select a date from the advanced options first.