Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
SendOfJive
Posts: 10,783
Kudos: 4,840
Solutions: 779
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: Mozilla Firefox 11.0 & Norton Toolbar/IPS

Continuing with the Firefox update will not advance the Norton Vulnerability Protection to the correct version.  In fact, doing this may make things even more problematic, as the compatible Norton add-on should be in place prior to updating Firefox.  NIS 2012 needs to be updated to version 19.6.1.8 in order to be compatible with Firefox 11.

Regular Visitor
dfc99
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-15-2012

Re: Mozilla Firefox 11.0 & Norton Toolbar/IPS

[ Edited ]

My NIS 2012 is version 19.6.1.8. My existing FFox 5.0.1 still shows NVP 10.0.1.68-1 even after numerous runs of Live Update. Very strange problem, risky to update to FFox 11.0 until I can solve this odd problem.

Phishing Phryer
ALF60
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Re: Mozilla Firefox 11.0 & Norton Toolbar/IPS

[ Edited ]

Hi dfc99 I have been away from my computer for a few hours I would got back to you sooner. Try this do not use the firefox builtin updater but down load a full version of firefox 10.0 that is supported and install over your firefox 5.01. do not download the latest firefox  and then try to update your norton software going from ff5 to ff 11 may be the problem. To find a place to down load older versions of firefox go to http://www.filehippo.com/download_firefox/11540/ this link takes you to firefox 10.0 full download. when you have firefox 10.0 on your computer  run norton live update and check to see if the norton updated to the latest  NVP number.

Regular Contributor
Yoda
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: Mozilla Firefox 11.0 & Norton Toolbar/IPS

Could Symantec please add the ability to move the Norton Toolbar around in Firefox (and IE too)?

 

In Firefox, ther toolbar is stuck on a row by itself wasting a lot of browser space so I don't use it.

Norton Fighter
Krusty13
Posts: 6,810
Registered: ‎05-31-2011

Re: Mozilla Firefox 11.0 & Norton Toolbar/IPS

Hi Yoda,

 

You can move the Norton Toolbar in IE9.  Please see this article for more details.  -  http://support.microsoft.com/kb/153593.

 

I hope this helps.

 

Dave.

W W W  =  Wild Wild West.    Be careful out there!

Preetha_G
Posts: 824
Topics: 18
Kudos: 42
Solutions: 8
Registered: ‎07-12-2011

Re: Mozilla Firefox 11.0 & Norton Toolbar/IPS

Regular Contributor
Yoda
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎11-07-2008

Re: Mozilla Firefox 11.0 & Norton Toolbar/IPS

The Norton Toolbar will only move around on the Menu Bar row, which I normally hide because I don't need it. This approach was recommended by Microsoft IE9 was released.

 

When using IE9 I only use the Favorites Bar and Command Bar, which happily reside together on one row.

If I enable the Norton Toolbar it occupies a separate row.

If I also enable the Menu Bar, I can move the Norton Toolbar around on the Menu Bar row, but I cannot move it to the Favorites bar / Command bar row. This means I am stuck with an extra space-wasting row I don't want.

 

What I am suggesting is a true floating, maybe even browser agnostic, Norton Toolbar that the user can put anywhere.

 

 

Regards

 

 

 

Regular Visitor
dfc99
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-15-2012

Re: Mozilla Firefox 11.0 & Norton Toolbar/IPS

[ Edited ]

Just updated to Firefox 11.0, then ran Norton Live Update manually. But Norton Vulnerability still shows as version 10.1.0.68.1, not version 10.1.0.68.2 as it should. I'm stumped.

Phishing Phryer
ALF60
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎03-10-2010

Re: Mozilla Firefox 11.0 & Norton Toolbar/IPS

Hi dfc99 did you do a computer restart sometimes that works.

Regular Visitor
dfc99
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-15-2012

Re: Mozilla Firefox 11.0 & Norton Toolbar/IPS

The NVP is now the correct version 10.1.0.68-2. Norton Toolbar working again too.

 

Thanks for your quick reply!

 

Dan