Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Visitor
Constractor1

Vulnerability Protection Signatures corrupted...

Hi, all. Newbie here. (Brace yourselves.)

I've read the other threads on this, and they haven't helped. This is happening almost every day now, sometimes twice, so Help!

It's happening randoml - it just happened again- randomly, not just when I restart. NIS 4, Mac 10.4.11, eMac 1.25 USB 2.0.

Thanks. Have to update and restart again now...

Symantec Employee
ryan_mcgann

Re: Vulnerability Protection Signatures corrupted...

Sorry for the problems.

When you say this is happening randomly, can you please elaborate on what you were doing when the error appears…does it appear when you restart your Mac, or only after your Mac has been running for a while? And how often does it appear?

Also, please make sure you have the latest versions of everything. Some people have had their Vulnerability Protection definitions get out of sync somehow. You can verify you have the latest versions by following these steps:

1. Open the Terminal application (in Applications -> Utilities).

2. Copy and paste (or type) the following:

cd /Library/Application\ Support/Symantec/IntrusionPrevention/CurrentSignatures

cat virscan1.dat

kextstat

Please post the results of these commands into the forums here so I can take a look.

Thanks,

Ryan

Ryan McGann
Principal Software Engineer
Macintosh Products & Solutions
Symantec
Visitor
Constractor1

Hello, Ryan, thanks for the prompt and helpful reply.

The version check you asked me to run should be attached.

As I say, there seems to be no pattern to the occurances. I'm on 3-5 hours or so in the evenings during the week, and recently it's happening once or twice an evening. It certainly happens within the first 20 minutes or so - which is strange, because I've scheduled a Live Update to run as soon as I start - and then it may happen again later on.