Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Regular Contributor
jlrca1
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎07-19-2008

Disable or remove Norton Protection Center

[ Edited ]

Is there any way to disable or remove the Norton Protection Center?

 

Even though all boxes are unchecked the taskbar icon still shows up.

 

This is not needed module.

 

The only thing that this software needs to do on a constant basis is 

update the definitions and protect the system in the back ground.

 

Systemworks Standard

Message Edited by jlrca1 on 07-19-2008 07:15 PM
Stu Rootkit Eradicator
Rootkit Eradicator
Stu
Posts: 5,210
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Disable or remove Norton Protection Center

Why would you disable it?
"All that we are is the result of what we have thought"
Regular Contributor
jlrca1
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎07-19-2008

Re: Disable or remove Norton Protection Center

It is very annoying.

I do not need it to tell me that I have something turned off or whether I need to some action that I normally do on a periodic basis.

Tony_Weiss
Posts: 7,916
Topics: 555
Kudos: 1,989
Solutions: 304
Registered: ‎04-07-2008

Re: Disable or remove Norton Protection Center

If you're looking to hide the Norton protection Center more, you can change the view to be in the Systray instead of the Taskbar. By right-clicking the item in the taskbar, you are given the option to Show Norton Protection Center in the Systray.
Tony Weiss
Norton Forums Global Community Manager
Symantec Corporation
Newbie
neoxenon
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-04-2008

Re: Disable or remove Norton Protection Center

Actually I hate the Norton Protection Center it's very annoying, sometimes I like to disable some features like email scanning or something else, but the exclamation mark in red is very disturbing, I hope I can use a clean Norton Internet security 2008
Newbie
MIchaelPSmith
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-11-2008

Re: Disable or remove Norton Protection Center

***Why would you disable it?***

 

Speaking of Norton SystemWorks 2007 Premier

 

For example, I installed the program on a computer where I only wanted the Utilities... Don't say I should have bought a simpler version of the application.

 

If I uncheck everything having to do with security; firewall, antivirus, etc., the program should know not to install, or to disable, the Security Center. It serves no purpose in my installation, consumes system resources, and provides no benefit. In addition, it is annoying for a program to continuously warn me that I do not have a program installed that I know is not installed, nor which I want installed.

 

That is why there should be the option to disable the Security Center under any circumstances, and the program should know whether or not to install it in the first place.