Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
Protector
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2012

How to add Chrome as a permitted program

 

Need step by step directions to  "Add Google Chrome as a permitted program in your firewall's or antivirus software's settings. If it is already a permitted program, try deleting it from the list of permitted programs and adding it again."

 

Atomic_Blast
Posts: 1,135
Kudos: 218
Solutions: 39
Registered: ‎09-05-2011

Re: How to add Chrome as a permitted program

[ Edited ]

Hi Protector:

 

Welcome to the Norton Community!

 

What Norton product and version are you using? Chrome is supported NAV/NIS 2012 and 360 v5.

 

We can go from there. :smileyhappy:

 

Thanks,

 

Atomic_Blast :)

"Every day is just another increment on the bell curve of life."
Visitor
Protector
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2012

Re: How to add Chrome as a permitted program

Thx Atomic_Blast,

 

Comcast put this on my computer when I signed up with them. I see Norton Security Suite in the upper left hand corner. In the about tab I see Version: 5.1.0.29. 

 

I love your signature block.

 

The Protector

SendOfJive
Posts: 10,580
Kudos: 4,684
Solutions: 759
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: How to add Chrome as a permitted program

[ Edited ]

Hi Protector,

 

The Norton Smart FIrewall will automatically permit Chrome access to the internet, so I am not sure why you need to make any manual changes.  Are you having connectivity problems with Chrome?

 

If necessary, you can go into the Program Control options in Norton Smart Firewall settings.  Highlight Google Chrome and click "Remove," "Apply," and "OK."  The next time you launch Chrome it will again be added to Program Control automatically with the proper rules to again allow internet access.  Again, there is no need to do this if you are not having connectivity problems when using Chrome

Newbie
Protectorx
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2012

Re: How to add Chrome as a permitted program

Thx Much Guru,

 

The reason i embarked on this journey this morning is because of the error message I received when trying to get into just so happens, Facebook- and the page was opening incredibly slowly. 

 

To boot, I just underwent a major new profile because of some crazy update that prevented me from getting into outlook and at the end of a more than 4 hour session with a tech,,,,,i am still trying to sort out how to optomize my work experience online. 

 

I will try what you just recommended and get back to you. 

 

The Protectorx

 

SendOfJive
Posts: 10,580
Kudos: 4,684
Solutions: 759
Registered: ‎02-07-2009

Re: How to add Chrome as a permitted program

If Chrome connects to the internet at all, it is not a firewall issue.  If the firewall were blocking Chrome, every site you attempted to visit would come up as "Page Not Found."

Newbie
Protectorx
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2012

Re: How to add Chrome as a permitted program

okay- well, it seems to be working fine.