Reply
Visitor
dukeboxster
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-28-2010

NORTON DNS blocking a legitimate site while safeweb say it it SAFE!

Hello, I have an issue with a legitimate site that started to be blocked by Norton DNS a couple weeks ago.

 

the site is www.rds.ca is safe base on safeweb http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=rds.ca&product=ask.com&action=info&source=&version=

 

And when I click the detail report of Norton DNS It gave me the result of an other sites than the one I am trying to reach

 

http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=rds.cache.peer1.net

 

Could this be somekind of bug ?  I doubt there is malware present on the web site as safeweb would not rate it SAFE!

dickevans
Posts: 9,250
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: NORTON DNS blocking a legitimate site while safeweb say it it SAFE!


dukeboxster wrote:

Hello, I have an issue with a legitimate site that started to be blocked by Norton DNS a couple weeks ago.

 

the site is www.rds.ca is safe base on safeweb http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=rds.ca&product=ask.com&action=info&source=&version=

 

And when I click the detail report of Norton DNS It gave me the result of an other sites than the one I am trying to reach

 

http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=rds.cache.peer1.net

 

Could this be somekind of bug ?  I doubt there is malware present on the web site as safeweb would not rate it SAFE!


Hi,
Not quite sure what's happening here. You might submit all of this to;

https://submit.symantec.com/false_positive/

and let them sort it all out

{off the wall] what level of Norton DNS protection are you running? The content of some safe sites [like a bar & grill] might get blocked because of some beverage types that they offer.

Keep us posted

 

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V20
Visitor
dukeboxster
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-28-2010

Re: NORTON DNS blocking a legitimate site while safeweb say it it SAFE!

[ Edited ]

Hi Dick, thank you for your reply and sorry for the late follow up, I didn`t check this post for a while as I was expecting an email advising me but never got it :(

 

As you suggested I filled the form under safe web to report and explain this false positive.

 

In regards to the level of DNS protection I am running, I'm not sure, I simply run the Norton DNS configuration client 1.0.2 which set my DNS addresses to :

198.153.192.1 and

198.153.194.1.

 

I will update this post as soon as I get an update.