Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Visitor
lisakelly
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-22-2012

Norton DNS Tool to change Enable/Disable?

Is there a program or tool that can help Enable and Disable Norton DNS quickly and easily?

 

Sometimes I need to disable Norton DNS to access a particular website, but it's tedious and hard work to always manually go into settings and remove the Norton DNS IP numbers and then add them in again when I want to Enable Norton DNS again.

 

Is there any easier way?

 

Thank you.

dickevans
Posts: 12,447
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Norton DNS Tool to change Enable/Disable?


lisakelly wrote:

Is there a program or tool that can help Enable and Disable Norton DNS quickly and easily?

 

Sometimes I need to disable Norton DNS to access a particular website, but it's tedious and hard work to always manually go into settings and remove the Norton DNS IP numbers and then add them in again when I want to Enable Norton DNS again.

 

Is there any easier way?

 

Thank you.


Welcome,

Not that I'm aware of, sorry. If you have more than one computer and Norton DNS installed on only one of them . . . .

I have the DNS on my router so that the whole network is protected. I've found that I can live without the sites that it will not let me view. Remember that the various DN Server IDs allow different levels of 'stuff' past. the .40 being the least restrictive and the .60 being the 'G' only rated one.

The DNS change would require a reboot of the device {computer or router] in order for the change to become effective.

Maybe the easiest way would be to have two routers. One with the Norton DNS setting of your choice and the other with your ISP's DNS. The swap of a couple of cables would make the change. Then it would just be a matter of plugging in the power cable to the router in use.

Hope this helps

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21
Visitor
lisakelly
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-22-2012

Re: Norton DNS Tool to change Enable/Disable?

That's not true at all!  I can manually remove the Norton DNS numbers and immediately Windows 7 allows access to blocked websites.  And I can then manually enter the Norton DNS numbers and immediately the websites are blocked. NO need to reboot at all!

 

Anyone know of a Norton tool that allows Adding and Removing the Norton DNS numbers fast and easily?

 

I recall that clearcloud dns had that feature, so can Norton DNS add that feature too please?

 

Thanks.

Super Phishing Phryer
DaveH
Posts: 5,726
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Norton DNS Tool to change Enable/Disable?

Open a command prompt and paste this in:

netsh interface ip set dns name="Local Area Connection" static 8.8.8.8

 

Thats the google dns server.

 

If that works you can make a couple batch files, the one above will change it way from noton dns and this one will change it back to norton:

 

netsh interface ip set dns name="Local Area Connection" static 198.153.192.40

netsh interface ip add dns name="Local Area Connection" 198.153.194.40 index=2

 

It works "on the fly" for me, but if I have IE open I have to close it and then reopen it.

You may need to change the name= to match exactly what it says in your "Network Connections"

(I'm in XP at the moment)

Dave

Visitor
lisakelly
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-22-2012

Re: Norton DNS Tool to change Enable/Disable?

[ Edited ]

Why would I want to change it to 8.8.8.8 ? How can I just have it blank when I want to disable Norton DNS?

 

BTW, "netsh interface ip set dns name="Local Area Connection" static 8.8.8.8" didnothing for me. Norton DNS is still working. I am running W7.

 

Anyone else know a solution on Windows 7?  Thank you.

Super Phishing Phryer
DaveH
Posts: 5,726
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Norton DNS Tool to change Enable/Disable?

If you disable Norton DNS, your going to need to temporarily use another DNS server or you will never be able to resolve a website address.  Since you were already using a fixed address I thought that would be easier than trying to switch between a fixed and "automatically obtain address".

 

Sorry it doesn't work for you, it works fine for me in XP.

"Local Area Connection" is the name of my network adapter, it's the default name when your using a wired connection into a router or modem.

In XP all the adapters are shown in the control panel under network connections.   I can't boot into windows 7 now but since you have been manually changing the settings I assumed it would also show the adapter names.  If you pasted that line into a command prompt window it should have gave you an error about the adapter name if that was the problem.

 

Dave

 

Visitor
lisakelly
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-22-2012

Re: Norton DNS Tool to change Enable/Disable?

Dave, when I disable Norton DNS I just click on "Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP / IPv4) and then select "Properties" and then I just click on "Obtain  DNS server address automatically" and then the Norton DNS numbers disappear and Norton DNS stops working.

 

BUT when I want to activate Norton DNS again it gets tedious work because I have to manually go back into "Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP / IPv4) and then select "Properties" and then click on "Use the following DNS server address" and manually enter the 2 Norton DNS numbers.

 

On W7, is there a quicker and easier way?

 

Cheers.

Visitor
lisakelly
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-22-2012

Re: Norton DNS Tool to change Enable/Disable?

[ Edited ]

By the way, when I run netsh interface ip set dns name="Local Area Connection" static 8.8.8.8 in Windows 7 command line, it gives NO errors and it does change the numbers to 8888 and blank underneath.

 

I had to run it as ADMIN, that's why it didn';t work before probably!

 

But how do I tell it to leave both BLANK?

 

What is 8888 anyway?

 

And I created a batch file with these 2 commands, and run it as ADMIN and it now turns ON Norton DNS, so thanks :)

 

netsh interface ip set dns name="Local Area Connection" static 198.153.192.60
netsh interface ip add dns name="Local Area Connection" 198.153.194.60 index=2

 

But how do I tell a batch file to turn on "Obtain  DNS server address automatically" and blank the 2 fields, so Norton DNS is disabled?


Super Phishing Phryer
DaveH
Posts: 5,726
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Norton DNS Tool to change Enable/Disable?

8.8.8.8 is a free google DNS, it has no filtering.  You can replace that address with the DNS server(s) your ISP uses.

You said you had to disable the Norton DNS to get to certain sites, so I figured any unfiltered dns server would work.

Next time you have it set to "obtain the address automatically"  (both lines blank) you can run this command to see what your ISP uses:

ipconfig /all

 

I actually don't know off the top of my head how to use the netsh comannd to switch between fixed DNS addresses and DHCP (the 2 blank lines).

 

I'm sure it's listed here somewhere:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc754516(v=ws.10).aspx

 

I don't have to time to find it right now, I'll look later.  But if I remember correctly you then have to run a command to turn off DHCP before changing the fixed addresses.  I just thought it was eaiser to change between one fixed address (Norton DNS) and another fixed address (google or any other nonfiltered dns server).

It also makes a quicker change "on the fly" than having your system automatically obtain a server.

 

Another option is to find a tool that can change network configurations, I'm sure there are free ones still out there.

A lot of people need them for laptops to quickly change all the network settings between work and home.  They usually also work "on the fly" with no reboots needed.

 

Dave

 

 

 

Visitor
lisakelly
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-22-2012

Re: Norton DNS Tool to change Enable/Disable?

[ Edited ]

Thanks Dave.  At least I can now quickly activate Norton DNS, that was the main thing I wanted, so thanks to you:)

 

And in the meantime I will run this batch to disable Norton DNS:

 

netsh interface ip set dns name="Local Area Connection" static 8.8.8.8
netsh interface ip add dns name="Local Area Connection" 8.8.4.4 index=2

 

If you find any DNS tools that can help to quickly activate "Obtain  DNS server address automatically", then please let me know.