07-29-2012 08:51 PM - edited 07-29-2012 09:06 PM
Good morning.
Yesterday afternoon I was checking if a program was secure (from the Norton 360 interface, I clicked on check and it opened a website to Norton Website, like it should), when I got a message from Norton DNS stating that website was in fact not secure (the own Norton website). I thought it was a temporary problem and forgot about it.
But for the last hour I was getting Norton DNS messages alerting for the fact that several known websites were insecure (Juniper Networks, the own Norton website and so on). I have Norton 360 + Prevx 3.0 and had received no warning whatsoever. I ran a Norton quick scan virus and Prevx Scan just to make 100% sure it was not a redirect virus and found no Spyware or Malware (aside from the usual "tracking cookies").
Then I ran some traceroute to the URL's, and Norton DNS was resolving the URL to an IP address belonging to Symantec corporation: 198.153.192.41
After that I changed the DNS to Comodo and everything seems OK until now.
Is/Has anyone experiencing this issue (Norton DNS users) ?
I'll leave some screenshots of the problem (Norton DNS message and traceroute):
Kind Regards.
Solved! Go to Solution.
07-30-2012 12:38 AM
Same for me this morning, no problems previously. I get the same error displayed when visiting a bunch of well known sites like carphone warehouse and Nortons but not others. Disabled DNS and accessed all sites as normal but defeats the purpose.
07-30-2012 07:36 AM
Same problem: well known websites suddenly are blocked:
www.carphonewarehouse.com
www.emc.com
global.sky.com
www.vauxhall.co.uk
us.norton.com
etc...
07-30-2012 08:21 AM - edited 07-30-2012 08:32 AM
All blocked websites are aliases to the edgekey.net domain which is owned by Akamai and
is currently blocked by Norton DNS.
A large number of companies use their services so the problem is affecting many websites.
07-30-2012 08:46 AM
Is this going to get fixed? I hate not using norton dns but right now I can't even get to verizon.
07-30-2012 08:56 AM - edited 07-30-2012 08:58 AM
07-30-2012 09:20 AM
This morning for the first time I encountered a Norton DNS warning that my attempt to connect to American Airlines at www.aa.com was redeirected to a malicious website www.aa.com.edgekey.net. When I tried to access the Symantec website (www.symantec.com) to check out the threat I got a similar message about that website. What's up with that?
07-30-2012 01:08 PM - edited 07-30-2012 01:47 PM
Thanks for the posts. The issue has been corrected. Please confirm if the new update has resolved the issue.
Thanks,
Katie
07-30-2012 01:33 PM
I was having the same problem this morning. Can we get an update?
Was this a configuration issue or was this an actuall attack?
Do i need to change passwords for all the sites that i was failing to log into... until i realized other sites where resolving to malware sites, something had happened to my DNS...
thanks
07-30-2012 01:45 PM
Hi Amirsepa,
Are you still experiencing the issue at the moment? Could you please check it again now?
Thanks,
Katie
