10-07-2010 01:22 PM - edited 10-07-2010 01:23 PM
Hi - I signed up up to the Online Backup trial period, and backed up some important files. I then let the trial period expire without subscribing - leaving the files in limbo.
At the time I didn't wish to subscribe - however, when attempting to delete the files, I was unable to - I got an error message and was unable to proceed with the deletion - I did a search on the forums here and saw this was a known problem, and that a number of fixes were going to be applied.
I've now logged in again (as I wish to start using online backup now), and notice that all files have been removed, which is good - however, I never received any notification about this. Can someone from Norton confirm that the files have indeed been purged - I'm a little concerned as they were important files.
10-08-2010 01:41 PM
To clarify - it is important that the files are deleted?
NOBU trials are purged relatively soon after the account expires. We have a grace period per our TOS during which we retain the data so you have a chance to resub if you so desire. If you had the NOBU agent installed it would have let you know once your subscription had lapsed that your data was up for deletion and also if you logged into the NOBU site. I don't think we send email notifications about account related info but I'm not 100% sure on that.
If you let us know the date your account expired I can tell you whether or not the data has been deleted for sure. Alternatively if you'd like to contact me via PM or email I can get some personal information from you and have a look that way as well.