Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Visitor
CodyMaverick
Accepted Solution

Norton Security Suite from Comcast Upgrade Spam - How do I disable this?

Greetings all,

I have an Internet subscription through Comcast and with it I am able to get a free Norton Security Suite program.  The Norton Security Suite through Comcast also came with a Constant Guard supplemental program which I didn't install as I didn't find it necessary.  

Norton Security suite hasn't been the best and I've had issues with certain options like the stupid "Norton is performing background tasks" pop up ad-nauseum, but nothing I haven't been able to work around.  However, lately, I've been getting a SPAM pop up that tells me that there is a Norton upgrade available and that it's already been downloaded and it's ready for install!  WTF?!

1.  I didn't authorize this update to be downloaded, and if it did in fact get downloaded, it did so without my permission.

2.  I don't want to install this update to the Norton Security Suite.  I'm satisfied with what I've already got.

3.  I don't want to receive a NAG SPAM screen telling me that it's been downloaded and is ready for installation.

4.  There is no "Opt Out" or  "Don't ask me again - EVER" button to push.  It's either "remind me later" or "start the install".  I do not wish to do either.  Very clever and annoying!

How do I disable this stupid NAG SPAM?  I do not wish to uninstall and then re-install Norton Security Suite.  Everything was running fine within normal tolerances until I started receiving this worthless NAG SPAM pop up. 

Please tell me where the file is located on my computer so I can delete it or tell me how I can disable it forever.  I do not wish to see it ever again!

Here's a screen shot of the stupid NAG SPAM screen.

Norton Spam Advertisement.jpg

yank
Kudos: 2,030
Solutions: 471

Re: Norton Security Suite from Comcast Upgrade Spam - How do I disable this?