Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
JONin92656
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-06-2010

Re: Norton Utilities 15 - Problems

Okay, I think I discovered a possible work-around for my problem.  After I installed NU 15 on my Windows 7 Ultimate computer, I went to services.msc and changed the properties of the three progams that were not working.  That is, if they failed to work, the services would re-start.  Now, I can get into each of the programs normally once.  That is, I start NU 16 and then click on the appropriate action.  However, if I want to get back into them a little later, I must re-start my computer to do so.  Any thoughts on this? 

Symantec Employee
erik_carlstrom
Posts: 4,409
Registered: ‎04-10-2008

Re: Norton Utilities 15 - Problems

Apologies, I hadn't subscribed to the post so I missed your response right away.

 

When you perform the action, do you see a new icon in the system tray?  If you do, try right clicking the icon to see what happens.

 

Erik
Product Manager
Symantec Corporation
Contributor
JONin92656
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-06-2010

Re: Norton Utilities 15 - Problems

I have NU15 on both my desktop and laptop.  The desktop is the one causing problems.  However, there is no icon in the system tray at all on either computer.  Should there be?

Symantec Employee
erik_carlstrom
Posts: 4,409
Registered: ‎04-10-2008

Re: Norton Utilities 15 - Problems

When you minimize Speed Disk/etc (by closing the window you are actually minimizing), you should see an icon in the system tray.  If your systray is set to only show a small number you may have to press the expand arrow to actually see the icon.  For NU, you won't see an icon in the system try unless NU is set to load on startup.  This will happen if you defrag the registry or choose to monitor the system with NU. 

 

When you try to launch any of the problem tools, check the Windows Application Event log for any errors if you aren't seeing an icon in the system tray. 

Erik
Product Manager
Symantec Corporation
Contributor
JONin92656
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-06-2010

Re: Norton Utilities 15 - Problems

Okay, I am defragging now and I do see the icon in the tray when I close the screen. 

Symantec Employee
erik_carlstrom
Posts: 4,409
Registered: ‎04-10-2008

Re: Norton Utilities 15 - Problems

Check to see if that icon goes away at all or stays in the system tray.  While there, try launching Speed Disk from the NU UI to see if it maximizes or behaves how you've been seeing. 

 

Erik
Product Manager
Symantec Corporation
Contributor
SkeeterVT
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-03-2009

Re: Norton Utilities 15 - Problems

I'm having a problem with Norton Utilities 15. It runs registry scans and privacy scans perfectly, but I cannot get it to run Disk Doctor to repair problems with my computer's disks. When I view my system's health report (It's a rather ancient Dell Optiplex GX-280), it shows my computer's disk health as low, even as it shows its registry health as high and privacy health as medium. Each time I try to run Disk Doctor, I repeatedly get a message that it cannot access the application engine. I have no idea how to fix the problem

Symantec Employee
erik_carlstrom
Posts: 4,409
Registered: ‎04-10-2008

Re: Norton Utilities 15 - Problems

Open Task Manager and look for the following running processes:

DiskDoctorSrv

Disk DoctorSrvProxy

 

If you don't see them running, try manually launching them (service first then service proxy). 

Erik
Product Manager
Symantec Corporation