Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
george18
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-03-2010
Accepted Solution

Norton as free from Comcast. Can't activate program after install

[ Edited ]

I am a new user of Norton 360 V4 as it is a free security suite from Comcast.  I have been using Mcafee for years and we

no longer have that option.

I down loaded the Norton 360 V4 suite from Comcast website and installed.  Its says that it can not activate.  Comcast advised to uninstall and reinstall and would fix problem.  Still can't activate.  I removed the Norton 360 V4 and then even with

no Firewall was not able to access the internet or any program that needs internet access.

I reloaded my system from a DVD backup and can now get back onto internet with the old comcast program.

 

I need assistance, Comcast does not have any more ideas, suggested contact Symantec.

 

I am not very good at computers, would need some written steps to get Mcafee removed, Norton installed, activated and running with full internet and program access.

 

Can someone assist me ?

 

 

 

Thanks so much.

 

 

[edit: Clarified subject.]

yank
Posts: 10,009
Kudos: 2,234
Solutions: 511
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Norton 360 V4 as free from Comcast. Can't activate program after install

Hi george18,  I have to guess your mention of Comcast referred to thier Chat and not their Security Help Forums.  The posts I am referring you to are on the Comcast Securtiy Board and it is a user to user forum the same as this forum.  Some of us even post on both forums - heping as best we can on both sides.  That said, we have seen some problems with activation of the Comcast Security Suite due to the incomplete removal ogf McAfee.  The method I refer to below will first rid your system of all "left over McAfee" and then rid your system of any corrupt download of Norton (caused by conflicts with McAfee).  You willhave to log-in to Comcast to be able to download the new install of  Norton Security Suite from Comcast.

 

 

- Go to this post and perform the steps for McAfee Removal.  NOTE: Step 2 (Uninstall McAfee from Add/Remove Programs) may not be possible as McAfee may have already been removed.

.

- The important thing is running the McAfee Removal Tool  - even if McAfee is already removed from the add/remove programs.

.

- Download and run the Norton Removal Tool from here.

  Note: You will not need a product key. 

.

  - Reboot after running the Norton Removal Tool.

.

- Complete the Prescribed Install instructions from this thread.


- Post back with the results.

floplot
Posts: 10,608
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,055
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: Norton 360 V4 as free from Comcast. Can't activate program after install

Hello george18

 

Also, please remember to run live update repeatedly until you get all updates and then reboot one final time. You should end up with version 4.2. Thanks.

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




Contributor
george18
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-03-2010

Re: Norton as free from Comcast. Can't activate program after install

Thanks for both of the suggestions.  I will give them a try early next week after making a good DVD backup of the current system which is presently running Mcafee so I can get back operational if something should fail.

 

Appreciate all of your assistance.

 

 

floplot
Posts: 10,608
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,055
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: Norton as free from Comcast. Can't activate program after install

Hello george18

 

Thanks for coming back and giving us an update. We will be looking forward to hearing that you have success install and activation of CNSS.

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




Contributor
george18
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-03-2010

Re: Norton as free from Comcast. Can't activate program after install

I want to thank everyone for the assistance on getting the Comcast Internet Security Installed.

I removed McAfee with remove programs, ran the McAfee removal tool twice and ran the Norton

removal tool and was able to download, get program installed and activated.

I can see that it is going to take me a little time to learn how to use program and it does

not seem to load and run as fast as the McAfee Internet Security.

 

Can I now reinstall my Ghost 2003 and Systemworks as they were removed with the

Norton removal tool ?

 

Thanks again.

floplot
Posts: 10,608
Topics: 218
Kudos: 2,055
Solutions: 367
Registered: ‎04-11-2009

Re: Norton as free from Comcast. Can't activate program after install

Hello george18

 

I'm glad you were able to get your CNSS installed properly. System works has Antivirus program in it and so does your CNSS, therefore Systemworks will interfere with your CNSS. Ghost is a backup program and CNSS includes their own backup program also. I don't know if you can disable the CNSS backup program and then use your Ghost program as there might be conflicts with those 2 parts of the program also.

Success always occurs in private and failure in full view.




yank
Posts: 10,009
Kudos: 2,234
Solutions: 511
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Norton as free from Comcast. Can't activate program after install

george18,

floplot is right on with his recommendation on System Works.

.

The backup portion of  CNSS can be disabled.  From the main page of CNSS, go to Settings > Quick Controls (right hand side) and UNCHECK  Backup and Backup Status Overlays

.

I have mine set up that way as I use a different backup program than the Backup that comes with Norotn.  I have not used it Ghost,  but I understand it is a good choice.

.

So glad you got it all sorted.  Just one more comment, if you have Comcast Toolbar installed, I'd recommend that you remove it, as it has caused system slow downs on some systems.

 

Contributor
george18
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-03-2010

Re: Norton as free from Comcast. Can't activate program after install

Yank:

Thanks for your comments on the backup and restore in Norton Security Suite.

I have also turned off the CNSS as I have Acronis Home installed on my system and

it makes good DVD system backups plus being able to clone the drive.  I also had

Ghost 2003 installed, not used in a few years as it seemed to fail the DVD system backup.

The clone of drives worked ok.

I am slowly getting the hang of running the CNSS, it will get better with trial and error.

I have never had the Comcast Toolbar installed, I have used the MSN Toolbar for a few years and I like it.

 

So one more question to answer, is there a difference between CNSS from Comcast and the Norton

sold product ?

 

Thanks again for everyone's assistance.     :smileyhappy:

yank
Posts: 10,009
Kudos: 2,234
Solutions: 511
Registered: ‎12-02-2009

Re: Norton as free from Comcast. Can't activate program after install


george18 wrote:

So one more question to answer, is there a difference between CNSS from Comcast and the Norton

sold product ?

 


 

Go here , and about halfway down the page is a comparison of Features and Benefits between Norton 360 and CNSS.
.
One other difference is that when upgrades/updates for a new version are offered, they are available for the paid Norton 360 subscribers prior to being made available to the Comcast customers.  In the past (I have found) it is normally a 2 week delay in the process.
.
That said, be assured all the definitions are updated at the same time for both products and you are not lacking in protection with CNSS.