08-11-2008 01:03 PM
It's rather confusing which partition and which hard drive you're referring to.
If you delete a partition, you end up with unusable, wasted disk space. You can reformat the partition, and it will still be useable.
Any time you "install a new image" (I'm presuming you're referring to recovering/restoring a backup?) you automatically overwrite whatever information was on that partition before.
08-11-2008 01:08 PM
i am donating my old computer, and i deleted the current system partition on the 'c' drive. I then installed an image i created with drive image Pro 7.0. i want to make sure that no one will be able to recover any data using undelete software.
08-11-2008 03:40 PM
Well, it depends on who you're giving your old computer to ... and who might eventually end up with it.
If someone is determined, they can still get lots of stuff off your old computer even after you restore an image. Formatting doesn't do much good to foil determined hackers.
You should really "shred" the contents of your drive before you restore an image. There are several levels of "shredding", so check out the options the program has and use the most secure. It'll take a while. What happens when you use a "shredding" program is that it overwrites the entire hard drive with several sequences of zeroes and ones (or other characters) until the original data is so scrambled that it's impossible for anyone to recover.
Here is a program on PCWORLD.COM that'll probably do the job. (I can't vouch for it.) It's shareware, but you should be able to use it once without paying for it. If the program has a DOD or Military option, use it.
08-20-2008 11:51 AM
Better yet, if you have Norton SystemWorks you can use WipeInfo and perform a DOD wipe on your drive that will prevent even a bare metal recovery.