Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
New2Ghost
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-22-2008
Accepted Solution

Using Norton Ghost 15 Not sure how to Clone a disk - Destination Disk currently Formatted

I don't have any unformatted hard drive and want to clone or copy a disk to disk.  Can anyone tell me how since the prefered method is to clone to a fresh hard drive .  I did a "Make a restore point" and attempted to restore on the new drive but the Widows XP image splash screen comes up and then the computer reboots in seconds.  Please help just need simple steps on how to clone a hard drive on to a disk that has been used previously.  Both disk are the same size.  I even unallocated the disk (but did not format it) and had the same problem, should I have formatted it?

 

 

Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,723
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: Using Norton Ghost 15 Not sure how to Clone a disk - Destination Disk currently Formatted

New2Ghost,

 

Just a few questions. What size are the HDs?

SATA or PATA?

What partitions are on the old HD?

Are you trying to boot the new HD in the same or in a different computer?

Contributor
New2Ghost
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-22-2008

Re: Using Norton Ghost 15 Not sure how to Clone a disk - Destination Disk currently Formatted

Both drives are SATA.  The old HD has one partition as does the source drive.  Trying to boot the drive in a different computer.

Contributor
New2Ghost
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-22-2008

Re: Using Norton Ghost 15 Not sure how to Clone a disk - Destination Disk currently Formatted

Computers are same model.

Contributor
New2Ghost
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-22-2008

Re: Using Norton Ghost 15 Not sure how to Clone a disk - Destination Disk currently Formatted

Both Hard Drives are 160GB.

Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,723
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: Using Norton Ghost 15 Not sure how to Clone a disk - Destination Disk currently Formatted

[ Edited ]

New2Ghost wrote:

  Trying to boot the drive in a different computer.


New2Ghost ,

 

Thanks for the answers. That's why the new HD is rebooting from the WinXP splash screen. The new computer requires different storage controller drivers from the old computer. Are they the exact same model? Ghost isn't designed to create clones that boot in a different computer but you might be able to get the clone to boot by using this method...

 

http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/howto/howto-drvins-tbosdt-dos.htm

Contributor
New2Ghost
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-22-2008

Re: Using Norton Ghost 15 Not sure how to Clone a disk - Destination Disk currently Formatted

Yes, exact  same model.

Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,723
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: Using Norton Ghost 15 Not sure how to Clone a disk - Destination Disk currently Formatted

[ Edited ]

That's weird because rebooting at the splash screen stage is what you see with storage controller issues.

 

OK, try this test. Remove the HD from your computer and install the new HD. Does it boot?

 

Where was the new HD when you did the clone procedure? Internal or connected by USB?

What brand and model are the computers?

Contributor
New2Ghost
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-22-2008

Re: Using Norton Ghost 15 Not sure how to Clone a disk - Destination Disk currently Formatted

No.  Both drives were internal connected.  HP 4400.

Contributor
New2Ghost
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎08-22-2008

Re: Using Norton Ghost 15 Not sure how to Clone a disk - Destination Disk currently Formatted

Is there a way to boot from the NORTON CD as oppose to using Windows Enviornment to copy disk to disk?