07-29-2010 05:33 AM - last edited on 07-29-2010 05:55 AM by JerryM
Verification file is live at hxxp://fantasymapmaker.com/nortonsw_cd7acca0-7c9f-
I also added the meta tag.
Neither one works to verify my site. Please help.
<<Edit: Disabled active link to a potentially hazardous website.>>
Solved! Go to Solution.
07-29-2010 05:53 AM
Hello loongtim and welcome!
First, you should be aware that your site is rated Unsafe due to a number of HTTP Fake AV Redirect Requests. Have those issues been addressed?
Your nortonsw file has some extra HTML formatting which may be preventing verification. When you view the source code for this page, you should see only one line, the authentication code. Having a Document Type Declaration or head and body elements may interfere with the process.
The Safe Web meta tag appears to be properly formatted and placed on your home page.
I will notify the Safe Web team of your issue. Please allow them a day or two to respond back to you in this thread.
In the mean time, could you double check that the URL you submitted to Safe Web exactly matches your website address, letter for letter?
To be notified by email when a reply is posted, go to My Settings > Preferences and check the box for: "Automatically Subscribe Me to Topics I Participate In".
Norton 360 • Norton Internet Security • Norton Zone | XP SP3 • Windows 7 Professional SP1 x64
• PLEASE, BACKUP or EXPORT your Identity Safe Data on a regular basis •
07-29-2010 06:14 AM
Hi Phil, thanks for your response.
My site was hacked several months ago but the hack was expunged and the exploit closed, so my site has been clean for a couple of months now.
As far as the nortonsw file goes - I downloaded it directly from your site as instructed and FTP'd it to the root of my server. I never modified it, so it should appear exactly as you gave it to me. I just opened it up and don't see anything it other than a single line of authentication code. The only thing I can think of is that maybe some external source is adding HTML formatting? I'm uploading the file with Filezilla.
Yes, the URL I submitted appears to match the website address.
07-29-2010 06:19 AM
That was quick!
My site verification just went through, so I'll submit my request for a site review now. Thanks!
