Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
TheElder777
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎04-11-2012

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

So when I booted from the Win7 Recovery disk and clicked  next after selecting keyboard type. I got a prompt saying:

Windows found problems with your computer's startup options. Do you want to appply repairs and restart your computer?

I will click yes, hopefully this will fix it automatically. If not I will use the instructions you posted. 

Contributor
TheElder777
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎04-11-2012

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

GUESS WHAT! SUCCESS!!!! WE HAVE GOT IT TO WORK! I am so happy. 

Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,700
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

[ Edited ]

Excellent!

Contributor
TheElder777
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎04-11-2012

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

[ Edited ]

Thank you once again. You are a good person.

Going to format my original drives. 

Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,700
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

That is a relief. I'll be away for a few hours. I'm interested in how you find the SSD speed compared with your HDs.

Contributor
TheElder777
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎04-11-2012

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

I will let you know. However I did not testbench my HDDs. So I can not give you hard data for comparison between the two. 

Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,700
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

That's OK. Gut feeling is fine.

Contributor
TheElder777
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎04-11-2012

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

Hello again. I'm amazed by how fast windows boots up. Also programs take noticebly less time to start. This is all kind of obvious though since the drive is an SSD. Here is also a link to the results of a performance benchmark I ran on the ssd:

 

http://i573.photobucket.com/albums/ss174/creeper81/benchmark.png

 

Thank you and take care.

 

 

Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,700
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

Thanks. That looks nice.

 

I meant to ask whether your SSD boots straight into Windows or whether you get a boot menu choice. If you do get a choice we can fix it so you don't see a menu.

Contributor
TheElder777
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎04-11-2012

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

Oh I see. No I don't get a menu. It boots directly from my SSD. Thank you.