Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,729
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15


TheElder777 wrote:

Where you said: "tick in Align Partitions at 2KiB
that would be the equivelent of: "Align partitions on 2048 Sectors" right? or would it be:

 


Looks like I need new instructions. The wording has changed.

 

It is now Align partitions on 2048 Sectors

Contributor
TheElder777
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎04-11-2012

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

[ Edited ]

Alright disk complete. What now?

When I open the disk, it's EMPTY! 

Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,729
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

That's OK. You can't see the files.

 

Boot from the CD

The CD boots into Partition Work
In the Partitions list, select the Win7 partition and click Resize under the Actions column.
In the Resize dialog box, click OK to error check the file system.
The error-checking process can take a long time. If the hard disk indicator light continues
flickering, the error check is progressing.
When the error check is complete, in the Resize dialog box type 215000     (That's correct. It is about 200 GB)
Click OK, and then click Continue.
The Resize status bar indicates progress. This process can take a long time.
BootIt BM checks for errors once again, after which the Resize dialog box displays a
message that the resize is complete.
Click Close.
Click Close on the Work with Partitions window, click Reboot and remove the CD.

Boot into Win7 and try Copy Drive again.

Have you reset the SATA cables? Probably a good idea before you try Copy Drive again.

 

 

Contributor
TheElder777
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎04-11-2012

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

Thanks, I will try this now. No, I have not reset my sata cables. We managed to copy two partitions i'm assuming the third has nothing to do with the sata ports. 

Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,729
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

OK

Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,729
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

I forgot. Now that we have shrunk your Win partition, one of your Copy Drive options will be...

 

tick Resize drive to fill unallocated space

Contributor
TheElder777
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎04-11-2012

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

Did everything. Got the same error.. going to switch sata ports. Wow 80 posts later and still having problems.

Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,729
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

[ Edited ]

If it fails again, go to Disk Management and create a NTFS partition (use Quick format) in that 700 or so GB of unallocated space. Then do a One Time backup of the Win7 partition, writing the image to the new partition.

 

I'll post restore instructions soon.

Contributor
TheElder777
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎04-11-2012

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

Just wanted to say thank you so much. You have devoted so much time into helping me. Thanks whether this thing works or not.

Rootkit Eradicator
Brian_K
Posts: 5,729
Registered: ‎04-19-2009

Re: help cloning HDD to SSD with NORTON GHOST 15

To restore Win7...

 

Boot from the Ghost CD and click Recover My Computer.

View recovery points by Filename

Browse to your image

On the Drives to Recover screen click Edit and select the unallocated space on the SSD. You may have to delete a phantom drive

see http://community.norton.com/t5/Other-Norton-Products/New-Hard-drice/m-p/253329#M24922

 

Select....

Resize drive after recover

Primary partition

Check for file system errors ......

 

When finished, shutdown and disconnect both SATA HDs. Power on and boot from the SSD.