Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Visitor
bigblue

newbie need help with Ghost 15

Hi all..

I'm trying to find out how to do this correctly...My hard drive is on it's last legs, and I'm ready to swap it out with a new one..I now have the new hard drive, Ghost 15, and an external drive...

First, I need to know the difference between backing up the disk and copying the disk..Are they the same? If not, I'm assuming copying the old disk to the external disk, then switching out the old hard drive for the new one, and then somehow sending the copy back to the new hard drive is the procedure?

I've already backed up my 2 partitions , along with all files and folders to the external drive..

If I really needed to just copy the drives, does that mean I should erase the external drive and start over?

I need to be careful , as you can understand..This has to be done right and I've never worked with a backup program before..

Any help would be appreciated..

Super Spam Squasher
DStain

Re: newbie need help with Ghost 15

hi bigblue.

Both are poles apart,

the first thing you need to do is backup your computer but don't tick the box "files and folders" and tick the box to verify after copying.

The files should then be transferred to your external drive in a folder marked Backup 1 for example. These are the files that you need to "Clone" the existing drive.

You will then need to do a "Copy My Hard Drive" and if you read this post  Here  it will give you a step by step instruction if it is a simple arrangement like C; and D: and no hidden partitions.

You could post a pic of the disk management to see the drive configuration, use the little green tree to post it. Right click on My Computer icon and Manage then Disk management.

Try that and get back to us to make sure you understand what to do.

Deric

Super Bot Obliterator
redk9258