Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
Contributor
EzzO
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-24-2010

Make Report option when virus detected

Hi, we know that NAV/NIS now automatically removes malware when that detected but it isn't so good for advanced user in my opinion. I know that no one has 100% security, every antivirus making false alarms, for this moments I think it will be good if Norton products will have Report option in File antivirus(promt user for action against detected virus). You will tell me that "It isn't so good for not advanced user", but I have offer to make 2 profiles in your products: 1. Automatic(not for advanced user) and 2. Advanced(for advanced users).

 

Thanks.

Contributor
EzzO
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-24-2010

Re: Make Report option when virus detected

and one more.

I think in Report action should be 5 options:

1. Cure

2. Delete

3. Move to quarantine

4. Block

5. Ignore

 5.1. Add to exclusions

Symantec Employee
dnadir
Posts: 65
Registered: ‎06-17-2009

Status changed to: Future Consideration

 
Symantec Employee
athena
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎04-07-2008

Re: Make Report option when virus detected

Thanks for the idea EzzO, we have this option now for low risk threats. So you would like to see this option for all types of threats? High Risk threats may ruin your system and your identity may be stolen, that's why we want to always clean them from your system. The user can always go back to Security History and revert it, in case this is an FP.

 

Is it only FPs that you are concerned about? 

Symantec Employee
athena
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎04-07-2008

Status changed to: Under Consideration

 
Contributor
EzzO
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎03-24-2010

Re: Make Report option when virus detected

[ Edited ]

athena

 

Yep, I want this option for all types of threats.  How High Risk threats may ruin my system with out my choice what to do with that threat. I think, when threat found, Norton must block it, after show me the notification and after I must choose what to do with that threat, am I right? And it isn't so good to go to History everytime in my opinion :)

Regular Contributor
szczypmen
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Make Report option when virus detected

Yes, I also support this idea.

Regular Contributor
H_H_86
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎07-01-2010

Re: Make Report option when virus detected

hi,

i agree with  EzzO too.

this is simple and effective.

we need  2 options : 1-Automatic Mode. 2-Expert Mode (Interactive)

then we can see the AV of the century!

 

 

Visitor
eXtremer
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-27-2011

Re: Make Report option when virus detected

Totally agree, I want to manually delete high risks threats!

Visitor
whirlvortex
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-01-2011

Re: Make Report option when virus detected

It is only awesome if you know what you are doing otherwise it can be dangerous. For me I like the status quo :)