05-18-2012 08:37 AM
I just reopened an old forum of mine (http://patriotwebsites.net/forums/) and in the last 4 days, I am CONSTANTLY getting hits from Norton bots. The bots are 'from' alerts.norton.com What is up with that because I have NEVER gotten hit with them in the other forums I have set up or run or helped others with...
I guess I dont mind BUT I would like to know what is up with this new bot.. Is it a NEW bot by Norton ?? OR is this the starting of a blacklist of my site??
05-18-2012 10:06 AM
Hi MichaelWilliams,
I am able to visit the site with no issues (Norton gives it a green "OK" rating). Can you describe what it is that you are characterizing as a "Norton Bot?"
05-21-2012 01:48 PM
The 'address' of the bot is alerts.norton.com.. I will log into the forum and try to get more info :)
12-04-2012 07:15 PM
Hi. I found the same issue on my website. Could you explain what it is?
Thank you
12-04-2012 07:42 PM
Michael, I seen your post about alerts.norton.com, and I checked it out. Here is what the website for it says:
http://www.iplocationfinder.com/alerts.norton.com
Host: alerts.norton.com
IP: 67.134.208.134
Hostname: alerts.norton.com
ISP: Century Link
Organization: Symantec Corp Swapdrive Norton Data Services
I ran a "program" on the site to see if it was an authenticated Norton site, and it is, but it is being spoofed to have it start appearing on different parts of the web. It seems to be just an annoyance from what I can tell. I am wondering if Norton/Symantec started spoofing it just to see what people would say, or if someone is breaching their cybersecurity with a new zeroaccess. I guess we will find out later lol.
