Not what you were looking for? Ask our experts!
Reply
nikki605
Posts: 198
Topics: 14
Kudos: 24
Solutions: 3
Registered: ‎05-16-2010

Windows Virtual PC - Do I Need An Antivirus?

I have NIS 2012 (v19.7.0.9) installed on my Win7 Pro x64 laptop and it is working fine.  It is a 3-PC license and all 3 installations are used.  The remaining 2 licenses are installed on other WinXP desktop PCs.

 

I have Windows Virtual PC - Windows XP Mode installed on this laptop to run some older programs.  This is also working fine.

 

My question is this - do I need a separate antivirus program installed in the Virtual PC XP Mode?  If I have internet activity going on from within the XP Mode VM, does that internet traffic go through NIS which I have installed on Win7, or do I need an additional antivirus program installed within XP Mode?

 

Thanks for any guidance. :smileyhappy:

--------------------------------------------------
Gary
dickevans
Posts: 12,446
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Windows Virtual PC - Do I Need An Antivirus?


nikki605 wrote:

I have NIS 2012 (v19.7.0.9) installed on my Win7 Pro x64 laptop and it is working fine.  It is a 3-PC license and all 3 installations are used.  The remaining 2 licenses are installed on other WinXP desktop PCs.

 

I have Windows Virtual PC - Windows XP Mode installed on this laptop to run some older programs.  This is also working fine.

 

My question is this - do I need a separate antivirus program installed in the Virtual PC XP Mode?  If I have internet activity going on from within the XP Mode VM, does that internet traffic go through NIS which I have installed on Win7, or do I need an additional antivirus program installed within XP Mode?

 

Thanks for any guidance. :smileyhappy:


Hi,

If the VM sees and is seen by the Internet it needs protection. You can install your Norton product in that system without needing an additional subscription. The Norton server will recognize the VM OS as part of the authorized machine and allow the install - will will never be using more than the purchased three subscriptions at any one time. If you do reach a point where you want to run four systems then you will need an additional subscription.

Hope this helps

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21
huwyngr
Posts: 21,822
Topics: 1,038
Kudos: 2,862
Solutions: 380
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Windows Virtual PC - Do I Need An Antivirus?

Dick,

 

Let's double check about activations in VMs unless you have done it -- my recollection is that an activation is used up in VMs unlike with dual booting as isolated OS's.

 

But I may be wrong .....



Hugh
nikki605
Posts: 198
Topics: 14
Kudos: 24
Solutions: 3
Registered: ‎05-16-2010

Re: Windows Virtual PC - Do I Need An Antivirus?

I haven't tried installing NIS in the VM yet.  I have been running MSE just to have something because I wasn't sure if I needed an a/v in the VM or not, which is why I posted the question.

--------------------------------------------------
Gary
huwyngr
Posts: 21,822
Topics: 1,038
Kudos: 2,862
Solutions: 380
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Windows Virtual PC - Do I Need An Antivirus?

Thanks for asking, Gary.... I realize your question was whether the VM was in fact protected by its host. I have gotten the impression from here and elsewhere that it is not, if it has any contact with the outside world, which could be internet but equally could be reading a file from a disk or thumbdrive ....

 

I've asked for clarification of what I'd seen earlier but that ended up not entirely clear on the point of activations.



Hugh
SUBASH_PRABU
Posts: 2,076
Kudos: 257
Solutions: 90
Registered: ‎05-31-2011

Re: Windows Virtual PC - Do I Need An Antivirus?

Hi Gary

      I had checked the same scenario a while back in an imac running Windows7 in Virtualbox. I have N360 in Win7 and NIS for mac in the Host. I downloaded some malicious files from malware domainlist website and got the prompt from NIS installed in mac stating malicious connection blocked, N360 didn't prompted anything, because the Internet Connection is only shared by the VM and not a separate connection. So the Host machine AV moniters the Internet Traffic and blocks anything malicious. And as the malicious communication is blocked already by the Host AV, N360 didnt prompted anything.

      Same applies to the files you download in Vm, because if you download a file it gets stored in the Virtual Hard Disk space you had allocated and that Virtual HDD space is located in the Host Machine only. So that too gets scanned by the Host Machines AV. I hope i made my comment clear....:robotwink: Feel free to correct me and give your Comments about it. 

nikki605
Posts: 198
Topics: 14
Kudos: 24
Solutions: 3
Registered: ‎05-16-2010

Re: Windows Virtual PC - Do I Need An Antivirus?

Well... if I'm reading these replies correctly, then I'm still unsure.

 

Hugh seems to think that the host a/v does not protect the VM, but Subash's reply says that the host a/v does protect the VM.

 

When I get a minute, I guess I can download the the EICAR test file from within the VM and see what happens.

--------------------------------------------------
Gary
huwyngr
Posts: 21,822
Topics: 1,038
Kudos: 2,862
Solutions: 380
Registered: ‎04-13-2008

Re: Windows Virtual PC - Do I Need An Antivirus?

nikki

 

I would not pay too much attention to me on Virutal Machines since I've not used them and I don't know the "status" of the host when the VM is running

 

I am very likely wrong about the host security not protecting the VM since I said somewhere recently that since the VM is just a bunch of files running under the host and "pretending" to be an operating system the user in that case should not have assumed that it was safe to play with a rootkit to see what it did since if it infected the drive itself then the host could be affected.

 

But even that logic may be wrong since we are dealing with computers ....

 

What I was more categoric about was that we need to check on the question of whether a Norton security application installed on a VM requires an additional activation or not ... on that I don't have a areply yet from the person who was dealing with multiboot activations  ....



Hugh
dickevans
Posts: 12,446
Registered: ‎04-08-2008

Re: Windows Virtual PC - Do I Need An Antivirus?


nikki605 wrote:

Well... if I'm reading these replies correctly, then I'm still unsure.

 

Hugh seems to think that the host a/v does not protect the VM, but Subash's reply says that the host a/v does protect the VM.

 

When I get a minute, I guess I can download the the EICAR test file from within the VM and see what happens.


Hi,

Quick fix suggestion. You have a 3PC subscription with all three in use. Install Norton on the VM and see if your key will activate it or you get an error message. If it activates, problem solved. If not, then you will need an additional subscription.

Hope this helps

Dick
Win7x64 SP1 current NIS V21
Super Phishing Phryer
DaveH
Posts: 5,726
Registered: ‎01-06-2010

Re: Windows Virtual PC - Do I Need An Antivirus?

Dick, you will find that it takes a seperate license to run a Norton product in a VM since the "hardware" of a virtual machine is different than the host system.  (most of it is virtualized).

 

Subash, I think you will find that the behavior for a windows VPC is different than a Mac.

Files downloaded into a Virtual PC do not "pass through" the host system so they can't be scanned or intercepted by a AV installed on the host.   I can download and run the Eicar test virus in a VM and NIS on the host system doesn't bloack it in any way.

I'm not familar with how a Mac does virulization but it seems like it must be sending the files from the host into the VM.

 

As for NIS scanning the virtual had drive, it can't do that either.

Norton products do not support .vhd files as "containers" like it does with archives like zips and rars.

Although it really should support them, it's a very common format.

 

You can right click and scan the vhd files but it only scans tham as 1 file, Norton is not able to scan the files inside the container.

 

In order to do a manual scan of the contents of a VHD, the easiest way if your using windows 7 is to use disk management to mount the vhd as a hard drive and then scan it like you would a normal drive.

 

You also could "share" the VHD wile it is in use and scan it like a network drive but it should be considered bad practice to share the root of another system over the network.

 

Dave