Cookie Message
[ Edited ]11-08-2011 04:35 AM - edited 11-08-2011 04:36 AM
Could there be a problem with this post? Every time I open the post, I receive a note that a site wants to put a cookie on my computer. Could a virus or keylogger be sent to my computer the same way? I wasn't receiving the cookie notice yesterday and this is the only post I receive the message from.
Re: Cookie Message
11-08-2011 07:21 AM
Hi, PC_confused,
I suspect, given your description and screenshot, that "imgquick.com" may be a source that Lithium (the forum software Norton uses) employs to manage images in the posts. This would cause this to appear to be the only post this happens with if it were the only post you view that has embedded images.
In any event, cookies are not a malware threat--they're just a mechanism that websites use to store data so they can read it again the next time you visit. This can be a "threat" if it includes unencrypted sensitive information like your username and password, or if other affiliated sites can use it to get a picture of your browsing habits and online interests. But it is certainly nothing you need to worry about in this context.
Re: Cookie Message
11-08-2011 12:05 PM
SendOfJive, I tried several times this morning, just to make sure it was the only post giving me that tracking cookie message, and each time that message came up. None of the other post I looked at sent that message. Now I'm not getting that cookie message. It wasn't a problem, just unusual.
Thanks both of you for your replies.
