• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Advanced

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

Kudos0

Word 2000 problem with Norton Security under Windows 10

Hi there,

Having jumped from XP straight to Windows 10, I have been using the latter for a few months on a new machine, with Windows Security installed throughout.

For various reasons, I have both Office 2000 and Office 2010 installed on this machine, and all components of both have worked fine until recently.  In particular, .DOC and .RTF files are associated with Word 2000 and, again until recently, double clicking on such a file (e.g. in File Explorer) resulted in it being opened in Word 2000.

I can still open .DOC and .RTF files from within Word 2000.  However, if I double click on them outside of Word, Word 2000 fires up and displays the "requesting virus scan" message in the bottom left of the Word tool bar for a couple of seconds, and then nothing further happens (in particular, the file is not opened!).  I am not experiencing a corresponding problem in relation to the Excel, Access, Powerpoint or Publisher components of Office 2000.

I am, not aware of any even remotely relevant changes which occurred at the time the problem first showed itself.  I'm not certain what version of NS I was using when the problem first arose, but I have now upgraded to 22.16.1.4 and the problem persists.

The impression I get is that NS is probably not responding to the scan requests, or is not responding in a manner that Word 2000 can understand.

With earlier versions of Norton products, it was possible to disable the virus scanning of MS Office documents, but I cannot find a way of doing that with what I now have.  In those days it was said that the Word add-in existed in a .WLL file, but I can find no such animal in my machine.

Any thoughts/suggestions?

Kind Regards, John

Labels: Windows 10

Replies

Kudos0

Re: Word 2000 problem with Norton Security under Windows 10