• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Advanced

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

This forum thread needs a solution.
Kudos0

Does Safe Web no longer work with Google, Bing, etc in Chrome?

I recently installed Norton Security on my elderly Dad's new laptop. I have been installing Norton for him for about 9 years now,; one of the reasons is he likes the website ratings in the search engine results. 

Unless something went wrong when installing, or I missed a setting, there are no longer search engine website ratings in Google or Bing - even with the new Norton extensions all installed. Am I doing something wrong, or are website ratings in search engine results now only available when using Norton's proprietary (with Ask.com) search engine? 

Thx

Replies

Kudos0

Re: Does Safe Web no longer work with Google, Bing, etc in Chrome?

Have you installed and enabled the Safe Web  extension in the Chrome browser? It no longer is part of the main Norton Security product installation.

Things happen. Export/Backup your Norton Password Manager data.
Kudos0

Yes, I installed that and the other extensions offered. Still no website ratings in Google/Bing on Chrome. I also installed Firefox and the Norton extensions to see if it was the same deal, and it's the same as Chrome. Only get the website ratings next to search engine results using the Norton ask.com search engine.

Kudos0

If you still have a Norton Toolbar extension in Chrome, remove that as it is no longer supported by Chrome. It may be interfering with the new Safe Web extensions.

Be sure you have the latest version of the Safe Web extension. I have ver 3.3.0.4 and I see the icons in my Google searches.