• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Advanced

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

Kudos0

Can't recover on line storage after deleting back up set

OK I suspect this has been answered but I can't find it.

To clear out a lot of garbage rather than sign up for more space I created a new back up set which excludes stuff I don't want . I then deleted the default back up set and then backed up the new back up set.

So far so good but Norton is still telling me I've got only 88MB left. I cleared out maybe 200 MB, and that was just the first step.

How do I get access to the new space?

I'm on N360 if that makes any difference.

Replies

Kudos0

Re: Can't recover on line storage after deleting back up set

OK I suspect this has been answered but I can't find it.

To clear out a lot of garbage rather than sign up for more space I created a new back up set which excludes stuff I don't want . I then deleted the default back up set and then backed up the new back up set.

So far so good but Norton is still telling me I've got only 88MB left. I cleared out maybe 200 MB, and that was just the first step.

How do I get access to the new space?

I'm on N360 if that makes any difference.

Kudos0

Re: Can't recover on line storage after deleting back up set

Hi Andyvev,

Simply deleting a online backup set from your norton product does not release the space on the server since the files are still residing there.So, in order to clear out the space on the server too always select 'Delete backupset and files' option when you click the delete backupset link on the manage backupset summary page.

Alternatively, if you have already deleted the backupset without deleting the files, you can still delete the files on the server. All you have to do is go to the 'Where' tab in the manage backupsets window, select 'Secure Online Storage' option and then click on 'Delete Backed up Files' link present at the bottom of the same window. You may select the default backup set from the drop down list and then delete all/selected files.Once the files are deleted, click on 'Refresh List' link on the Where tab and you should be able to see your available space increase.

Kudos0

Re: Can't recover on line storage after deleting back up set

Thanks but I dont have the option to delete backup set and files, only delete backup set. There's something not right when I come out of creating a new backup set with the files I want to clear out excluded. I have Norton 360 version 6.3.0.14.

It asks "are you sure you want to exclude these files....?"

I click yes then go back to the previous screen which has 4 boxes along the bottom: Preview, Run backup, Save settings and Close.

Preview shows the files selected with the ones excluded - this is correct.

Run backup is greyed out

Save settings then gives a message "nothing has been selected for back up"

Close asks "do you want to save your settings?" - if you say no then all you've just done is wasted, and the backup name you previously created doesn't exist, but if you say yes it gives a message "nothing has been selected for backup. You must select one file type or add one file to the backup set"

I've tried going back from Save settings and the files are still there.

What next?

Kudos0

Re: Can't recover on line storage after deleting back up set

Hi andyvev,

The option to 'Delete backup set and files' appears only if you have run the respective backup atleast once. If the backupset has only been saved and never run, then you will only be asked to delete backup set.

The Run backup remains greyed out only in the case when there are no files available for backup i.e you don't have any file type categories selected on the 'What' window and also you don't have any files added manually to be backed up ( you can add files manually by clicking on 'add or exclude files and folders' link present at the bottom of the 'what' window in manage backupsets.'

Please ensure that either of these two conditions are met inorder to be able to save and run a backupset.

Kudos0

Re: Can't recover on line storage after deleting back up set

I finally got to delete a load of backed up files and now have 1.2 out of 2 GB spare!  Thanks Arpan.

It would however have been a lot easier and cheaper in terms of my time to just pay up for extra storage - surely that's not Norton's intention?

Kudos2 Stats

Re: Can't recover on line storage after deleting back up set

Hi Andyvev,

Good to hear that you were able to increase your available space by deleting the files :-)

We have to ensure that the customer's backedup files don't get deleted incase he deletes the backupset accidently. That's the reason we give the customer's another option to delete backupset and files,so that the files are deleted as per user's consent.

Now since you know how the OLBU works, you can manage your online backup space more efficiently and buy more storage only in the case when you have genuinely used up all the space purposefully :-)

Please write to us whenever in doubt. We'll do our best to help you.

Thanks

This thread is closed from further comment. Please visit the forum to start a new thread.