• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Advanced

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

This forum thread needs a solution.
Kudos0

Delete contact backup of old device and disable backup notification

I used Norton Mobile Security on my tablet for a while, but not anymore (since at least one year now). I had the contact backup enabled and now my contacts from that time are still on the Norton servers. How can I remove them? Currently all my three licenses are used for other devices, that's why I do not use the product on my tablet anymore. I do not need a contact backup and I do not want my contacts being stored on Norton servers. What can I do?

My second question is, how can I disable the notification after every reboot of my phone, that I should make a contact backup? I do not have the backup enabled on my phone, and as I said, I do not need this feature. But this notification is annoying. Is there an option for disabling it?

Replies

Kudos0

Re: Delete contact backup of old device and disable backup notification

From a PC or a browser on your mobile device, log into your Norton Account at   https://my.norton.com  and click on review devices. Choose the device you wish to remove the backups from. Scroll down to Backup in the left pane and click that. Then you will see a list of backups for your device. Click on a backup and then click the trash can on the right to delete it. There does not appear to be a bulk delete for a specific device. So you will have to delete each individual backup. 

You will have to do this for each mobile device you have used the contact backup. 

As for stopping the notification for backups. Be sure you have turned off the Contact Backup in Norton Mobile Security App Settings. 

Things happen. Export/Backup your Norton Password Manager data.
Kudos0

Re: Delete contact backup of old device and disable backup notification

Choose the device you wish to remove the backups from

That's the problem, the device is not there anymore.

Be sure you have turned off the Contact Backup in Norton Mobile Security App Settings

This option is already disabled. But this does not prevent the app from reminding me after every reboot.

Kudos1 Stats

Re: Delete contact backup of old device and disable backup notification

From another mobile device with NMS installed, go to the contact backup section. Then look beside Backups for...then tap on the device that is listed. That will bring up a list of devices you have backups for. Tap on the one that you wish to remove backups for. Swipe left on the backup you wish to remove, and tap on delete. As I noted above, you have to delete each backup individually.
Things happen. Export/Backup your Norton Password Manager data.
Kudos0

Re: Delete contact backup of old device and disable backup notification

Thanks! I was able to remove all the old backups. By the way: I could delete all with one "click", I only had to select every backup individually.

Now there is only the problem with the notification. Today I saw that it's not only after every reboot, but after every 7 days as well. The message tells me that I have not made a backup since 7 days.

Maybe the solution is that you cannot disable this reminder?

Kudos0

Re: Delete contact backup of old device and disable backup notification

By the way: I could delete all with one "click", I only had to select every backup individually.

Good catch.

Now there is only the problem with the notification

Is this notification on a device you are still using NMS on? And you are not using the backup feature. Try enabling the backup. Restart the device, then turn off the Backup again. Then see if you still see these messages. 

If that does not help, try clearing the NMS app cache and data.  Go into the Norton Mobile Security, NMS app settings. Tap on the 3 bars at the top left of the NMS screen and tap on Settings. Scroll down to the Anti Theft section and turn off the Device Administrator setting.  Now go to Android Settings - Apps. Scroll to the NMS app and clear the app cache and app Data. Restart the device and turn the Device Administrator setting back on. This will reset your NMS to a trial version. To get the full version back, open the NMS app, tap on the 3 bars at the top left, then tap Sign In. Enter your Norton Account information and you should have the full version again.

Then test to see if things work properly.

Things happen. Export/Backup your Norton Password Manager data.
Kudos0

Re: Delete contact backup of old device and disable backup notification

Is this notification on a device you are still using NMS on?

Yes, of course.

Try enabling the backup. Restart the device, then turn off the Backup again. Then see if you still see these messages.

I set the backup to "Daily", rebooted and now there was no message. Now I set the backup back to "Off". I will report after my next reboot or after 7 days, whether this helped. ;)

Kudos0

Re: Delete contact backup of old device and disable backup notification

I'll be here.  

Things happen. Export/Backup your Norton Password Manager data.
Kudos0

Re: Delete contact backup of old device and disable backup notification

After more than 7 days, the notification did not appear again. But after another reboot, it was there again. Here is a screenshot of it (German language):

I will not try to completely reset the app, because this would be more work than swiping away the notification from time to time.

At least the old backups could be deleted.

Thanks for your help!

This thread is closed from further comment. Please visit the forum to start a new thread.