Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!
The end of Norton Zone???
I've just received this email: what does it mean?
You are receiving this notice because our records show you signed up for Norton Zone. Symantec has made the decision to discontinue Norton Zone and we will wind down our support of this service over the next 30 to 60 days.
At Symantec, we continually scrutinize our portfolio to make sure we’re delivering innovative solutions that captivate our customers and give you the most value. In reviewing the Norton Zone service, we looked at competitive solutions available today, our differentiation, and how well we addressed your emerging needs. While Norton Zone is an innovative, new offering, it is not yet solving your needs fully.
You’ll have access to your files for the next 60 days. For the first 30 days, you will have full access from any device. After July 7, 2014, you will still be able to access your files but only from a Windows or Mac computer, not any mobile devices. During this time, you’ll only be able to access and copy your files but not use any other feature of Norton Zone, like sharing. After August 6, 2014 your files and related data, like file names, will be permanently deleted from the service and neither you nor Symantec will be able to access them. This is a critical step in ensuring your privacy but it means you must be sure to copy all data out of Norton Zone before August 6, 2014.
What other file-sharing service should I use?
That’s really up to you. There are several on the market that are available to you. Below are easy instructions on how to move your files from Norton Zone to any other file sharing service:
- Sign-up for the file sharing service of your choice.
- Install the client they have for accessing your files from your computer.
- Open the services folder on your computer.
- Be sure you have the Norton Zone client installed on your computer as well. If you don’t have the computer clients installed, go to nortonzone.com and sign-in. You’ll see a link on the right side of the web page.
- In a separate window, open the Norton Zone folder on your computer.
- Now just drag and drop your files from Norton Zone into your other service.
- Once your new service syncs your files, you’ll be all set.
If you have paid for a subscription to any version of Norton Zone, we will automatically refund your subscription fees in full for the time you’ve been a paid subscriber. If you enrolled in auto renewal, we will remove you from that program and not automatically renew your subscription.
If you are currently using the 30-day trial of the business version of Norton Zone, your trial will not expire on your expiration date. Your trial account will follow the dates outlined above.
We want to thank you for being a Zoner. If you have any questions, you can email us at email@example.com
The Norton Zone team