• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Advanced

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

Kudos0

'Fully used online storage' message - how do i delete the old stuff?

really annoyed at this - been surfing the net for solutions but no luck. i would have thought the online storage just replaces the previous set! anyway, that's obviously too simple so i keep being asked to buy more storage when I don't want or need to, I just want to back up 1.5gb of files regularly. I have gone to the online back up site and it just crashes on me, i have also chosen to, 'delete previous sets' but that just comes up with files with numbers which i don't understand. can anyone help me please?

Replies

Kudos0

Re: 'Fully used online storage' message - how do i delete the old stuff?

really annoyed at this - been surfing the net for solutions but no luck. i would have thought the online storage just replaces the previous set! anyway, that's obviously too simple so i keep being asked to buy more storage when I don't want or need to, I just want to back up 1.5gb of files regularly. I have gone to the online back up site and it just crashes on me, i have also chosen to, 'delete previous sets' but that just comes up with files with numbers which i don't understand. can anyone help me please?
Kudos0

Re: 'Fully used online storage' message - how do i delete the old stuff?

I have the same question.  From the Nobu site, it shows that I have two backup sets with the exact same name.  At some point, for some unknown reasons, N360 created a new back up set with the same name instead of just using the same backup set.  Now the account is full 'cause it's trying to backup everything again.

N360 has a feature for deleting files online, but it's terribly slow and so arkward to use that it's next to useless.  For deleting just one file of 50Kb in size, it generates a tremendous amount of download and upload traffic which takes 30 mins to process.  All for just that one file.

Kudos0

Re: 'Fully used online storage' message - how do i delete the old stuff?

Hello kittengn,

Sorry to hear about the frustration you've been experiencing. If you send me the username you use for Norton 360 account I can have your account manually purged.

Please note that once we do that all the prior backups performed will be gone and not restorable. You'll want to make sure that's an action you wish to take before we do it.

In regards to regularly backing up files - let me give a brief explanation of how the technology works:

The first time you run a backup, it will transfer all of the selected data in full. Basically the same thing as if you uploaded a file to any other online service.

Subsequent backups will only send changes to previously selected files as well as backup any new files you've added into your backup set. This includes files automatically included based on the rules and folders you have selected.

If you de-select a file or folder from backup the content is not deleted from your online storage. This is purposely done in the event you wish to restore that file at a later date. It's especially handy if the file was deleted from your system, for one reason or another, by accident and you need it back.

This is why the purge/delete feature is available via the Norton Drive. You can selectively delete files or the entire data set. However you have to keep in mind that it is not only deleting what you selected but all its prior revisions of that file or backup set.

Please let me know if you have any other questions or need further help.

This thread is closed from further comment. Please visit the forum to start a new thread.