• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Advanced

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

This forum thread needs a solution.
Kudos0

I have an Open Port 554

My  Port 554 is open ??????????????????? It's the Real Time Streaming Protocol.

It is open and not stealthed.

Tried another Security Suite - Same result.

Is this a cause for concern?????

Am I exposed to malmare or a threat?

I have done a full scan and nothing turned up.

Might I have some background process that's using it? If so what type?

Replies

Kudos1 Stats

Re: I have an Open Port 554

Hi, hok. This comment came from a user on whirlpool.net.au.

I too thought the culprit would be real time streaming but playing around with the settings still resulted in an open port.

I did find the culprit however and it was home group networking. I disabled that as my computer's the only computer in the house anyway and then did another shieldsup test and this time the port was stealthed successfully.
Took me two hours to find the culprit. I must have run shieldsup about 30 times while tinkering with settings.

Here is the page link.

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1501353

This KB article from Microsoft may also help. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/827562

Windows 10 Home X 64
Kudos0

Thanks F4E but I have no Homegroup and don't know how to disable it. I am connected through a "Private network" of one.

Kudos0

Problem Solved

I uninstalled and reinstalled a bunch of programs from my PC this AM. It appears I had a corrupted installation of Silverlight that was the problem.

Kudos0

Windows 10 Home X 64
Kudos0

Hi:-)

I have an open port 554 again.

This is on another PC which was a replacement for a defective PC. It's an ASUS  ROG GR20

Last time it appeared to be Silverlight that was the problem-uninstalling and reinstalling it fixed the problem.

This time that did not fix the issue.

I installed and uninstalled flash also.