• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Advanced

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

Kudos0

NIS activation query

Ok, this is probably a stupid question - but just wanna be safe :P I'm about to get a new laptop. If NIS 2011 does not come out untill then, and I install NIS 2010, then after a few days NIS 2011 comes out, I completely remove NIS 2010 and install 2011, will it count as 1 key activation or 2?

----------------------------------NIS 20.2.1.22Windows 7 64bit

Replies

Kudos0

Re: NIS activation query

Ok, this is probably a stupid question - but just wanna be safe :P I'm about to get a new laptop. If NIS 2011 does not come out untill then, and I install NIS 2010, then after a few days NIS 2011 comes out, I completely remove NIS 2010 and install 2011, will it count as 1 key activation or 2?

----------------------------------NIS 20.2.1.22Windows 7 64bit
Accepted Solution
Kudos4 Stats

Re: NIS activation query

Should only count as 1 if you uninstall then reinstall if you have any problems contact customer support who will reset your key.

Kudos2 Stats

Re: NIS activation query

Hi Cinek,

One other thing to mention. As long as NIS 2010 is operating normally you don't need to uninstall it before installing NIS 2011. An over the top upgrade is OK for routine situations such as this.

If you do choose to remove 2010 first, be sure to back up your Identity safe first, as a precaution.

Best wishes.

Allen

Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1, 64 bit, 32 GB * NIS Vers. 21.6.0.32* Ghost 15 * IE 9, Firefox, Safari. Test laptop with W7 Home Premium 64 bit * NIS Vers. 21.6.0.32
Kudos0

Re: NIS activation query

Thanks but I'd rather do a fresh install just to be sure.... btw when I uninstall NIS, should I remove everything or keep the settings?

----------------------------------NIS 20.2.1.22Windows 7 64bit
Kudos1 Stats

Re: NIS activation query


cinek wrote:

Thanks but I'd rather do a fresh install just to be sure.... btw when I uninstall NIS, should I remove everything or keep the settings?


Hi Cinek,

Definitely you should keep the settings. This will make things easier but as a precaution you should still back up Identity Safe and have your product key handy. You can get this from your Norton account.

Disconnecting from the Internet until NIS is reinstalled is also advisable for your protection.

Be sure to run Live Update to get up to the latest version.

Best wishes.

Allen

Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1, 64 bit, 32 GB * NIS Vers. 21.6.0.32* Ghost 15 * IE 9, Firefox, Safari. Test laptop with W7 Home Premium 64 bit * NIS Vers. 21.6.0.32
Kudos0

Re: NIS activation query

Hi cinek,

 

2011 products come with an excellent feature when upgraded over the previous product without uninstalling; it just migrates all your customised settings and you re,ain protected throughout the upgrade process as the previous product gets uninstalled "after" the new product's installation gets competed; thus ensuring protection for every minute second. I would think this is better than uninstalling 2010 and then installing 2011 as you always run a risk of losing your customised settings and if you are unfortunate enough, even your identity safe data!

Happiness can be found in the darkest of times, if one remembers to turn on the light.
Kudos0

Re: NIS activation query

Thanks, but I don't trust identity safe & all my settings are default :)

----------------------------------NIS 20.2.1.22Windows 7 64bit
Kudos0

Re: NIS activation query

A little confusing there.  The Product v+1 first is installed "over the top" of the Product v, and then product v is uninstalled automatically from Product v+1?  So this is the opposite of Product v+1 first performing an uninstall of Product v before Product v+1 becomes installed?  I though the old version needs to be removed somehow, before the updated/upgrade version is to be installed, even if this process is automated?    (the character, "v", is version number, in case my way of expressing is unclear).

Kudos0

Re: NIS activation query

Hi cinek,

Ya, you understood that right! This particular feature came about in the 2010 release. Till the time you restart your computer in case you are installing the new product without uninstalling the older version, the older product (v) continues to protect your computer and the new product (v+1) starts working after the restart.

Happiness can be found in the darkest of times, if one remembers to turn on the light.

This thread is closed from further comment. Please visit the forum to start a new thread.