• All Community
    • All Community
    • Forums
    • Ideas
    • Blogs
Advanced

Not what you are looking for? Ask the experts!

Kudos0

NISS 2009/OUTLOOK EXPRESS 'STALLS'/QUESTION ALSO ABOUT 'PULSE' UPDATES

Installed NIS2009 about 3 days ago - it went smoothly (via c.d.) no problems and set-up easily enough and obtained all the past definitions in record-time (this is my first time with high-speed for any security installation)

But have a 'few' concerns:

I'm Win XP, I.E. 6.0 .2900.2180 /Sp2 Outlook Exp. 6x: RoadRunner server via Brighthouse.

Several times while O.E. was open and operating, it 'stalled '(my word') -it tried to download email from the server but i saw the 'scale' seemed stuck....so I    tried to 'end process' via Task Mgr.  - nothing - then the box showing CCSVCHST. exe  appeared  with ''end now' choice - -clicked to 'end' -  it didn't 'take' &  kept reappearing - so i gave up &  shut-down via the tower/power button and system rebooted.  Same thing happened today but the first try at 'end now' for CCSVCHST.exe worked .

This is a new problem since installed Norton- i was using Trend Micro 2008 S.S. - never had this but then i didn't have it's mail-scanner enabled.

In Norton ISS both in/out mail are enabled. 

So,if the email 'scanning' program is causing problems as mail arrives from server to O.E. Is it o.k. to disable both in/out email scanning with Norton in case of conflicts with Outlook Express?   I know R.R. server scans mail as it comes into their mailbox before it's downloaded into O.E.  Is 'that' enough 'protection' for email?

Also the 'Pulse' updates - are they totally necessary if i always to a 'manual' update myself? (in case the pulse-updates are causing any problems?

Thanks in advance for any advices ....Edythe

Message Edited by EDYTHE on 08-11-2009 04:48 PM

Replies

Kudos0

Re: NISS 2009/OUTLOOK EXPRESS 'STALLS'/QUESTION ALSO ABOUT 'PULSE' UPDATES

Hello EDYTHE,

A few thoughts: