Option to Clean Browser History without closing my browser

I normally do my browser, cache and other cleanup myself but I decided to try Norton’s Utilities Ultimate. I had a couple Chrome browsers open today with a bunch of tabs of things I was looking at or working on. When I clean the browsing history myself, I leave chrome and my tabs up and delete the history and cache and tracking cookies. But since I leave the browser up and the tabs up, I don’t lose anything. So this morning I let Norton’s Utilities clean it up for me and the Utilities app closed my browsers first and then cleaned it all. I lost all my work. I will not let Norton’s clean that anymore and will probably not renew it next year since I have to do it myself anyway now. But it would be a nice option to have a check box or radio button or some feature to either close the open browsers first or leave them up to preserve current working items. That would be a huge helpful feature.
Thank you

You can drill down in the NUU cleaning functions to decide just what items in the browser cleaning you want to use. From the Clean Junk > Browser Data tab, click on the browser you want cleaned. That will open a window where you can choose which items you want cleaned. That way you should not lose the information you want to keep.

1 Like

Yes. I understand that part but I didn’t know it would clean the history by closing the browser completely first and then when it clears the history it wipes out all the tabs i had open on that browser. I was just asking if they could give the option to not close the browser when it clears the history. I can do that by going into the history on Chrome myself and clearing the browsing history and cache and by leaving my browser open with the tabs up it does not lose that data.
I just wanted to offer that suggestion to Norton. I did application development for 35 years and worked in operational support for the last 14+ years of that and I just thought I would bring that to someone’s attention. If I uncheck Browser History from Norton, when I clean it, then I am going to go back to doing it all myself anyway.
Just give me the option to not close the browser and tabs that are currently up.
Until my subscription runs out in a year I will just uncheck it for now.

Have you set your browser to open all tabs where you left off?

Yes, I leave it to where I can bring it up if I accidentally shut down my browser. But it would not help because norton’s shuts down the browser automatically then deletes all the history so it will not know what tabs were open when it shut down.
I will just not let norton’s clean my browser history and do it manually in chrome from now on.
thank you.