when NIS does a R&R, what happens to any quarantined or malware mail & files
IIRC - the quarantined files are retained in quarantine.
Hopefully someone will verify or deny that comment.
Hi, interbaun. yank is correct, and to quote the great man himself from a previous thread.........
The NRnRT will uninstall your current Norton product and then automatically reinstall the most current version of that product and retain your settings.
If used, read the Before you begin note run Live Update after until no more are found, and then RESTART your machine.
I beg to differ, all the blocked senders & domains have to be reset (MS Outlook); all the toolbar icons revert to the default settings. The entire folder tree “C:\ProgramData\Symantec” is removed. My query is, where does the folder holding the quarantined and malware settings and items go; are they just dumped into the recycle bin and if that’s the course, it not really a secure location to my mind. Shredding the info or writing over the whole folder should be done. I welcome your thoughts.
When you uninstall your Norton product, the items in quarantine will not be released to your machine. Depending upon the method of uninstalling, they will remain in a quarantined state or be removed from the system.
If you use the NRRT, they will be retained in quarantine.
If you use the NRT for a complete removal, quarantined files will also be removed.
Restarting after the option you choose will ensure the operation is properly completed, which is why we always advise a restart.